Guessing Game - Win SBI!

in #minnowuprising6 years ago

What's This?

Do you know? I do! My son found it in the old building that he and my husband are remodeling. The place has sat as a storage facility and time capsule for 70 years. It's like things went in and never came out.



0706181605.jpg



Of you know, or think you might have a guess, what this thing is, then comment!



rsz_img_20180706_171331.jpg



The first comment with the right answer wins a share of Steem Basic Income!



rsz_img_20180706_171438.jpg



That's all there is to it!

Sorry about the huge first picture. Every time I try to resize it, out stretches all weird...

Be sure to check out this post on medicinal Passion flower and enter for the medicinal seed giveaway!

1522684956444.jpg

Sotall Directory of Steemit Posts

Sotall Community Forums


Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

All pictures are mine!

Sort:  

Looks like a fire starter stick thing.

Close enough! 1 share for you! I'll send it in a few.

I sent the Steem for the SBI yesterday, still haven't received confirmation.... I sent them a message to see what's up.

Sweet!

Seems like that was more than 70 years ago though...

Yeah. The building was built in 1890. It was built as an opera house, and in 1907 it was converted into a three story building with store fronts on the first floor, office space on the second and apartments on the third. Over time, with all the junk stacked in the place, it looks like the businesses started stacking things on the second floor and never looked at it again. The third floor had been sealed off. The apartments were still half furnished.

I did a little post on it... https://steemit.com/oldbuilding/@powellx5/treasure-hunt-in-a-time-traveling-fun-house

They've found all sorts of old stuff in there.

That would be a really fun job. We did a restoration on a ln old house once that was the most renowned house in town. Built in the early 1099's if memory serves. Nothing that cool, but the craftsmanship in the home was marvelous.

The central chimney had three fireplaces on it in the middle of the home. To fit between all the walls and junctions, they had to make it spiral. It was about 6 feet in outside diameter, a spiraling square column of brick. It was impressive.

I got to see it when we had all the walls out in one of the rooms downstairs.

I've spent more time on this job than any other he's ever done. While they were doing demo, the craftsmanship blew my mind.
image000000_10.jpg
The hand chiseled slots in the stair stringers....
image000000_11.jpg
The relief cuts to bend that molding around.
I just wish we would've gotten more pictures!

And bonus... Every day that I show up, my son has found some cool little something to give me. They've found all kinds of things in the walls.

How many times did that guy have to adjust his cuts? How many similar joints had he made before this one?

So interesting. That's some badass craftsmanship.

You got a picture of that chimney?

No. They didn't want us taking pictures :(

https://www.flickr.com/photos/frystreet/21442438936/in/photostream

There's some pics of the fire damage in 1977. The huge sliding pocket doors were charred and preserved by later owners. Not sure if they were replaced by the folks we were working for.

Man, I bet that was a cool project to work on. Were you working on restoration from the fire?

Use to light for gas lamps.

Yep, that's it! 1 share for you! I'll send it in a few!

Explain what "shares" are please..

Here's a description of Steem Basic Income https://steemit.com/@steembasicincome

I sent them the Steem yesterday, still haven't received the confirmation, but I sent them a message to see what's up.

So, I guess they're just running a few days behind. I'll keep an eye out.

So, I guess they're just
Running a few days behind.
I'll keep an eye out.

                 - powellx5


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16