You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mitochondrial medicine: Fact or fiction? Chapter I –Mitochondria, our best friends!

in #mitochondria5 years ago (edited)

Dear Chapper,
Thank you very much for helping to explain the mystery of life 🙂 It's almost epic. From the beginning, when bacteria and cells formed a cooperative relationship, to the present where mitochondria have become directors of cell function: the activities of cells controlled by organelles that were once bacteria. Reads like science fiction.

A question about vitamin C: was Linus Pauling's work related to the conversions of radicals (as you describe in your article)?

One function of mitochondria really caught my attention: the role in promoting apoptosis. I know that a failure to clear apoptotic cells is implicated in lupus inflammation. Would this be considered a mitochondrial malfunction?

Wonderful that you take the time to explain all of this to us. I know your research is geared to improving health and you want to share what you know so we can help ourselves. I appreciate that very much.

Thank you. Have the most wonderful summer. Be well, and, as always--don't work too hard.
Regards, AG 🙂

Resteem!

Sort:  

Hey @agmoore,

thanks for your nice comment again.

Linus Pauling's work was even more than that but yes he knew that vitamin C counteracts free radicals and therefore took a few grams a day orally.

One function of mitochondria really caught my attention: the role in promoting apoptosis. I know that a failure to clear apoptotic cells is implicated in lupus inflammation. Would this be considered a mitochondrial malfunction?

In my opinion, it would! We will discuss this in detail in chapter II.

I also wish you a wonderful summer. This year it is not that dry as last year here in Germany, I hope it's the same in the US.

Best regards

Chapper

Thank you! I look forward to that :)

And no, it is not dry. I planted a baby tree and it needs water. I'm so glad.

Enjoy every sunny day... even the rainy ones.
Regards,
AG

I love rain!

But sun is also good 😁

Also a nice Weekend to you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your personal rain GIF :))

rain for chappertrongif.gif

And now it rain outside! Will have a nap to enjoy this.only the rainforest is missing here. Have a nice Weekend. Chapper

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87