You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mitochondrial medicine: Fact or fiction? Chapter I –Mitochondria, our best friends!

in #mitochondria5 years ago

Have you read the book 'Head strong' by Dave Asprey? It is very similar to your series I believe, also about how these mitochondria play a crucial role in your body and it proposes ways to improve your mental and physical fitness by optimizing these powerhouses.

I did not really like this authors style of writing. He sounds almost like a Guru who has figured out the one and only way to achieve mental and physical fitness and is eager to share this with anyone. I'm also critical about his arguments because he makes some crucial reasoning mistakes. So I'd love to follow your series to read about the actual science behind it!

Sort:  

Hey @samve,
haven't heard about the book or author before. But I can understand that you are a bit concerned about the style people like he might use. This is often far from the real scientific background and 100% marketing. My job is to do molecular biological and genetical analyses of patients. Therefore, I often wonder about the way these issues are communicated.

First rule: "People are no mitochondria on two legs!"

There is much more you have to consider. Unfortunately, many people reduce complex problems on single origins. That's why I make this series. To explain that a biological system is more complex than the beliefs of "gurus".

Have a nice weekend

Chapper

You could indeed read that there is some truth to what he tells, but it his goal is to convince people rather than giving just the facts. You're doing great in communicating the actual facts so I am very happy to follow your series.

Posted using Partiko Android

With pleasure ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87