LG V50 ThinQ -- update (2019/06/02 - V10u) -- changelog & comments

in #mobile5 years ago (edited)

<intro>:

Well, sorry for the massive delay for the series of posts for LG V50,

it really was because of my personal complications that made me not able to post more here.

I still am not out of that situation, but probably within a month, I may have chance.


So before going back to the series, lets have a look at recent update that hit my phone few days ago!


(BTW.... uh... now I could see nicer editor that I can easily apply some styles

but unfortunately with this, I don't think I can make cleaner separating line with this type of editor. :P oh well...

On the bright side, I could probably easily make bigger titles easily and numbered lists(which I am going to use for this post!)

[edit]: 'Raw HTML' option was HTML, not markdown, so syntax was different :P

it's <hr> instead of multiple - s :P

These lines don't show up on editor and I have to enter something first then insert the tag in between,

and if I write anything in the nicer editor those line tags disappear, which sucks.

And also posting images now became much more difficult and complicated,

since I have to switch to 'Raw HTML' then upload, then get the image link (on SteemIt) out

and use that for picture button which expects image link, not the file. big oof

Looks like better deal? :) I don't know....

-----

<synopsis / Korean>:

well, probably because it's not released widely yet, the changelog itself is still in Korean, even though I force the system to be in English.

But anyway, here's how it looks, and how it is in texts:


V50 ThinQ (6/12, v10y / LG U+ 순차 배포)

  1. Wiz Lock 앱 설정 시 Netflix 동영상이 멈춤 없이 재생되도록 개선되었습니다.
  2. 통화 및 데이터 연결 품질이 향상되었습니다.
  3. 특정 사용환경에서 발열 현상이 완화되도록 수정되었습니다.
  4. 음성 채팅 앱과 음악 앱 동시 사용 시 음악 재생이 끊기는 현상이 개선되었습니다.
  5. Hi-Fi Quad DAC 설정 후 듀얼 스크린을 닫은 상태에서 볼륨 조절이 안 되는 현상이 개선되었습니다.
  6. 화면 공유 기능 실행 중 Wi-Fi를 끌 수 없는 현상이 개선되었습니다.
  7. 5G 네크워크 연결 중 간헐적으로 핫스팟이 동작하지 않는 현상이 개선되었습니다.
  8. 듀얼 윈도우로 갤러리 앱 실행 시 사진 확대 및 축소가 안 되는 현상이 개선되었습니다.
  9. 앱서랍에서 폴더 생성 시 앱이 겹쳐지는 현상이 개선되었습니다.
  10. 5G LED가 불필요하게 켜지는 현상이 개선되었습니다.
  11. Google 보안 업데이트로 휴대폰 보안이 강화되었습니다.
  12. U+ VR 앱이 화면 해상도 중간 단계에서 실행되도록 개선되었습니다.(LG U+)


-----

<changelog / English>:

(now here's what it means, in English! :) )

  1. Now Netflix videos won't pause (even when you touch the other side of screens) when Wiz Lock (app) is on.
  2. Improved quality of calls and connection to data network.
  3. Fixed to alleviate heating issue under certain circumstances.
  4. Fixed the situation where music being played would cut off when voice chatting app and music app is used at the same time.
  5. Fixed the issue where you cannot adjust volume after Hi-Fi Quad DAC is set then Dual Screen is closed.
  6. Fixed the issue where you can't turn off Wi-Fi while running screen sharing function.
  7. Fixed the issue where hotspots would not not work intermittently while using 5G network.
  8. Fixed the issue where pictures cannot be zoomed in or out within Gallery app launched from Dual Screen.
  9. Fixed the issue where apps overlap each other when making folders in app drawer.
  10. Fixed the issue where 5G LED unnecessarily turns on.
  11. Improved security of phone with Google security updates.
  12. (only applies to LG U+ models) Improved U+ VR app to be launched in medium screen resolution.

-----

<comments>:

 ① : Finally, updates for Netflix fans! Big shoutout to LGE for this update! Hurray!

 ② : Last update (v10r) actually made my phone more difficult to connect to 5G as I just couldn't see it from my phone while using it for whole day. I wonder if it's intentionally not connecting to 5G or not, but we'll see with this update.

 ③ : I... can't say for sure. At some times, I couldn't feel much heat even if I used games + hotspots + 5G,

but other times I could really feel it with only one of those was in play, or even without any of those (when just simply using browser under LTE). We'll see for this one as well.

 ⑦ : I think I had this few times before. Hopefully fixed with this update. (we'll see)

 ⑩ : Well, I didn't know it could? But... we'll see

 ⑪ : That reminded me of update delay issues with other LG phones.

Recently updates rolled out for V40 in some regions but Koreans were complaining that it's getting later than in US.

Probably blame the carriers in Korea, lol.


Interestingly enough, I spotted an English speaking user in Quick Help forum which only shows in Korean,

and asked about exact timeline for update for Korean V40 model.

It of course drew some attention, as it'd be rare to see any other languages than Korean in Korean forum(cause it was Koran model after all, lol), and eventually the manager officially replied in English -- did the best! :)

And later on the same day update has been rolled out, finally. Just a few hours later...!

⑫ : This is the one that I reported in Quick Help. The bug or oddity, I should say....


OK, imma try to explain real quick:

If you set VR apps like Youtube VR as Dual app which is meant to be launched after Dual Screen is opened(after being closed/folded),

It would annoyingly ask you to change the resolution to high even though Dual Screen is on -- when it is not supposed to be.

If you just ignore the fact (which I will explain a bit in a second) then just set the screen resolution to high(QHD+),

It seems to work. Really!

Now, you fold close the Dual Screen and open again...

Now it asks you to shrink down the resolution and stuff in order to use Dual Screen.

OK, maybe because of resolution setting earlier. You accept.

Then.... that first message -- asking(really?) you to pump up the resolution... appears again.

And if you try to just ignore it, you have to close about 3 times -- so annoying.


...Actually I mistakenly set YT VR app as auto launching app to begin with, but so annoyed that I had to ask several places for this matter and I even got offical response that app will allow medium resolution settings....

... except it was for U+ VR app, not YT VR app.

Wait what? Is it working the same as that app? How could I guarantee this infinite loop not happen with that app!

😂

It was bit... dumb? or mistaken? answer? But... needs some test with myself to figure out.

If it doesn't resolve... then... imma tell again. lol!

Sort:  

Congratulations @theexperimentor! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69624.90
ETH 3615.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73