Get ready for old school 3D MODELING!

in #modeling6 years ago (edited)

(Before you start you need to know that this project was created more than 8 years ago.)

Once upon a time when I was in high school, I had one really strict professor who wasn't so popular among the students. He was really, but really strict, and he had strong principles. He demanded a minimum of understanding of his subject and lectures to pass his class, what was pretty fair for me.

I kinda respected him, his effort, principles, knowledge, way of dealing with problems. Maybe sometimes he didn't have the right method to deal with things, but he was effective. As always in my life, things that everyone hate I like and backwards.

Why introduction like this? Because, this man planted a seed of 2D/3D modeling in me.

As the years were passing by I came till the end of the first part of my college journey and I had to choose my final project. It was 3D modeling but within AutoCAD, and not in some modern 3D programs like Blender, Maya, 3Dstudio, just raw AutoCAD... why so?
I was really skilled at 2D sketches within AutoCAD so I wanted to try some 3D project and this final project came perfect to do it.

17268_221764962187_756812187_3071342_2399608_n.jpg

(photo by J.Ž.)

My assignment was to (re)create a folding 3D model of the St. Jacob's cathedral dome. The idea was to create a model part by part and assemble all parts into one model - The dome, because cathedral's dome was really built without construction bonding material and there was only physics who holds the dome's parts together.

Here's a picture to see how the dome really looks like:

Sibenik_katedrala.jpg

(photo: http://icolim2011.hep.hr)

It all started with some 2D sketches...

33.jpg

11.jpg

22.jpg

... and at the end of the day it ended up like this:

19.jpg

3Dkatedrala.png

I collaborated with couple of historians and professors who gave me right perspective and some ancient sketches of the cathedral and at the end it was really fun to do this, and I'm very proud of this project.

Hope you like it.

'till the next time, take care!

GG

Sort:  

Hey, I remember that church :) You did a pretty good job, even going as far as getting old plans of the site! I dabble with Google SketchUp sometimes, but I have never reached such a precision as your take on that monument. Bravo!

Thank you @herverisson! :) As I mentioned, some professors and historians let me have their data and sketches about this historical building, I kinda had to transform them into virtual world.
I want to do this more often but I really don't have any time, and my computer is really peace of shit, so if I install some serious 3D program I think he will die right away :D

Just like the Piramids, no one still knows how exactly they built the cathedral. Some parts are still a mistery.
But I guess you already know that.

Yes, I was studying it for some time. The thing is that laws of physics holding some parts together, without any of these it would fall apart. I will try to post a little bit detailed explination of the way how the dome was built, if you are interested of course. :)

Congrats, you have reason to be proud. It really looks awesome

Thank you bro :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69831.92
ETH 3744.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77