Monday Mixtape: Dec 3

in #mondaymixtape5 years ago

Monday Mixtape Dec 3.jpg

It's the 3rd of December and in the days to come, it will be the MOST WONDERFUL time of the year. (Except in the Philippines, where we started celebrating the Christmas season as early as September haha!)

I love Christmas and everything about it! But, more than the food, presents, and all the festivities, what I love most about Christmas is the message of hope, faith, love, and peace that it brings. This is such an important thing for me, so maybe I will write about it soon? Maybe.

Here's my #mondaymixtape entry for this week, which features some of the tracks in my Christmas playlist this year. This sets my mood as I countdown to Christmas.

Some guidelines as you participate in the #mondaymixtape conversation:

  1. Make a post with #mondaymixtape as your first tag
  2. Post links to 5 songs you like
  3. Tell us why you like them. Point out features that surprised you, stuff you learnt from the song, etc etc.

Enjoy!


1. Relient K - I Celebrate the Day



The first time I heard this, I immediately declared that this is going to be one of my favorite Christmas songs ever. That was almost almost 10 years ago. Fast forward to today, I still believe that this is one of the most real and most beautifully-written Christmas songs in the entire world, and it is still my favorite! I don't think my words will suffice in explaining why I think this is brilliant, so, just please click the link and find out for yourselves.

2. Relient K - Sleigh Ride



Interesting version and really cute music video. Relient K has done it again! :)

3. Michael Bublé - Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas



A Christmas playlist IS NOT a Christmas playlist without this song. Michael Bublé's version of Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas is just the perfect background for that quiet Christmas Eve or when you're trying to wrap presents, or setting up your Christmas tree. In other words, this song just exudes that distinct Christmas feels that we all know and love every December.

4. Hillsong Worship - Hark



Hark (the Herald Angels Sing) is one of the Christmas songs that has the most beautiful words. What happens when you let the beautiful Taya Smith come up with her version of this already-beautiful song? This version that is BEYOND. GLORIOUS.

5. Hillsong Worship - Seasons



I believe Hillsong Worship (also Hillsong United) is one of the most brilliant lyricists ever. Last year, they released a Christmas album entitled The Peace Project, which featured their own arrangements of classic Christmas songs and a bunch of new songs about Christmas, like Seasons. My favorite part: "For all I know of seasons is that You take Your time. You could have saved us in a second, instead You sent a child".The first time I looked at the whole lyrics of this song, I was convinced that this song is proof that the message of Christmas is not just for December but for every day of our lives. So beautiful!

Sort:  

Congratulations @charlocked! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89