Solar or No Solar ?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #money5 years ago

In Arizona we have been hit with a huge price increase on power, one that is close to a 60% increase on our bills. But is that increase going to drive more people to get solar, and pushing the proverbial snow ball farther down the hill. I have already seen the effects of it with my neighbors, and they for the most part are all going solar, but with the weather so nice, my bills have been staying pretty good. My only problem is that I put a lot of money 2 years ago into a lot of energy efficient things, such as new doors and windows, new ac, new led lights, and a solar water heater. So the system I need would be relativity small, but still they want a arm and a leg. So with a small bill, my potential pay back would be stretched out instead of 7 years. download (6).jpg

https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=1600&bih=708&ei=DVPYXKDmHObl0gLWi5ewCA&q=solar&oq=solar&gs_l=img.3..0l10.2185.2732..3131...0.0..1.102.375.4j1......2....1..gws-wiz-img.....0..35i39.5u3Y_r8H8vo

Sort:  

A grid tied system is a pain in the butt since you have to get everything approved and inspected. It seemed like forever to get mine setup and running with all the coordination of inspectors. I think its worth it long term though not only from a money saving standpoint but from a community one.

I think of it as an electricity blockchain that everyone can be part of to help decentralize the energy supply.

I was just talking to my father in law, and he bought his system, and we figured that over the 30 years that he has a warranty on them, he will make 4.62 times what he invested, and it could be up to 15.4% a year return on his investment. That is with no increase in the price of power figured in. Sign me up but I think with those numbers you would be smart to get solar, and not contribute to your retirement for a couple of years. You are not going to really average that anywhere else.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

@bigram13 You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87