Let’s Talk About That Ugly Problem...Shall We?

in #money6 years ago

1FFC2E6B-6FB6-4399-BF5C-CD86F38CFE4E.jpeg

Owning a small business is an empowering thing. It’s a tremendous accomplishment and you should be proud to have built sonething up. No matter how big or small, YOU took the risk involved. YOU put the time, effort and money into it. YOU are most likely the face of the business and are a large part of its success. Pat yourself on the back fellow small business owners. YOU deserve it.

All of this brings me to a topic that I myself have to deal with more often than I would like to. The deadbeat customer. I’m not talking about someone who does not make a purchase. I’m directly and only talking about those that order and dont’t pay. Now let me give a little background on my business first to put things a bit into perspective.

CA9A9BD2-293B-45A7-ACA7-7A784F3A4220.jpeg

That’s my shop. Conquest Comics located in Bayville, NJ. This month we’ve been around for 10 years and while it hasn’t always been rainbows...I’m happy with where we are at overall. We carry action figures, statues, Funko Pops, graphic novels, t-shirts, and so much more but with a heavy emphasis on comic books.

4F3D8BDF-BC30-4DF3-8D55-D9F17EB7A22B.jpeg

6F03460D-1D93-4A48-BCF5-350A8485633A.jpeg

8717464C-98F9-4B46-A584-D485ECDF393A.jpeg

EBE9C478-65C4-480E-A20D-994B88016068.jpeg

“New Book Day” as it’s known in the industry is every single Wednesday. Each week a slew of new titles grace the racks of comic shops all over the country. Comic readers and collectors alike flock to their LCS (Local Comic Shop) to pick up the latest issues and talk shop. It’s a part of the business that I truly enjoy. Wednesday is a day to connect with my customers...many whom have actually become good friends. We talk the latest books, art, movies...whatever. It’s a great place to be on New Book Day. If you’ve never been to a comic shop, pop in. I promise we aren't all like this guy. (Disclaimer:Some totally are.)

B1ABE536-4A42-4102-9059-E0C86DAF1C14.jpeg

Back to the point. Plenty of customers get specific books and are part of a reserve system. Different shops call it different things but basically it works like such. Teddy gets Amazing Spider-Man, Walking Dead, Avengers, Batman, Saga, and Venom. That’s what his pull list consists of so every issue that comes out of those titles, we yank for him and put in his pull. This helps both Teddy and I in different ways. For Teddy, this ensures that he gets his books no matter what. Lots of books sellout so he’s golden incase he can’t make it in for some time. It’s a win win for both of us.

86F81053-251C-4287-AC4A-F38732784803.png

For me I know what my reservists get on a normal basis so it helps with my ordering versus just blindly guessing. I know that if I have 36 reservists that have Walking Dead on their pull list, that I need to order a minimum of 36 plus however many I want for the rack for walk ins. Simple. For this we reward those that sign up with pull lists with us with a 10% discount plus their books bagged and boarded automatically. That roughly save them on average around .50 cents an issue which adds up...believe me.

Here is the problem. A somewhat decent percentage of those reservists break bad. They end up not picking up their product. It builds and piles up to the point of a problem. We are more lenient than others but have had to change our policy recently once again as we got burned hard in 2017. We usually do purge of these reservists about two to three times a year although we are now going to break it down more often and pay closer attention. When the books start piling up we give the subscriber a call. We do this 3 times before your pull is terminated. The problem is now we are stuck with overstock on books...most of which are now several issues old and will be difficult to move. That’s just a loss. If this happens with one person, not a big deal. But when 11 subs go bad at once it can lead to something like this.

E16D52D1-B3FA-4797-A150-95CDB9285477.jpeg

D2E386C4-25D8-4FFC-B6BC-07A4F2ACFEE3.jpeg

This was the holiday purge a few months back. We gave each one of these reservists several chances to not only pick up their stuff but to just be decent human beings and be honest. We get it. Life is tough and challenging and filled with circumstances that lead to a financial hurting. The loss of a job, divorce, car breaks down. Maybe you just lost interest all together. We will understand if you just let us know. The slap in the face comes when you tell me time after time you’ll be in and to not worry...just to end up stuffing me. Or even the complete ignore. No offense but we deserve better than that. Have some courtesy. It’s not that hard.

432045EF-4419-4179-B695-7A3006633E71.jpeg

I’ll also mention that the above stack did not include the over $1000 in statues and figures that we special ordered for these reservists. Nor does it include the deadbeat layaway plans that plague us either.

Collectibles are expensive. We have items that cost hundreds to thousands. We know it’s a daunting task, dropping $1200 on a book so we offer a layaway plan. We ask that you put 20% down and then make a payment every 2 weeks to a month depending on the item and payment size. Non refundable. All of this is laid out in advance yet we have to constantly chase people down for the payments. Then after holding said item and removing it from the sales floor for 3 months, the buyer says they changed their mind and would like their money back.

It’s almost comical how often this situation arises. I hate being that guy. I hate chasing folks down but as a small business, we depend on our customers to do the right thing and just be decent folks. Let us know if there is a problem. We will work with you if need be. Lucky for us the majority of our reservists and customers as a whole are amazing people. We wouldn’t have survived for 10 years thus far otherwise. It’s just a small percentage that qualify for the title of “deadbeat”.

0C7249A7-071C-405B-A0F5-81CC30017362.jpeg

The main thing is we just have to have common ground. A respect for one another.

Regardless, we have had to beef up our policy and be a bit less lenient with timeframes. Take CC numbers in advance on larger special orders. We are still figuring out how to go forward and protect us as best as we can while still being customer friendly and not scaring folks away. That’s a hard thing to balance at times and are still learning how to implement new policies that are fair for all involved.

I’ll end with a quick story of a hardcore reservist that was with us for a couple of years. He was a heavy hitter and would come in every few weeks to snag his stuff. He would drop between $300-$400 each time. Well he started piling up in the fall of last year. We contacted him and he said he had car problems but would be in soon. So we kept pulling. It grew. We called again...and again. Each time getting the “I’ll be in. All good. I’m sorry. Just been busy.” routine. Well 2018 rolled around and we stopped pulling new titles and ordering for him. We still kept his stack but didn’t add new books to it. Contacted one last time and wasn’t told “next week”. Well as you probably guessed already, he never came in. On top of his books he had some Wonder Woman special order statues and props, he ended up burning us for over $2k worth of product.

I saw him the other day at a comic show I exhibited at. He looked at me and turned quicker than I’d ever seen him move before and he bolted in the opposite direction. The question I have is...why?!?!?

Any comments welcome. If you own a small business and have dealt with this or something similar in any capacity, please share your story below. Maybe you are a customer who fell in this category? We’d love to hear from you as well.

Thx for taking a look folks.

Sort:  

I sell nerdy collectibles online, I’ve read comics on & off since I was a kid big fan. So over a year ago I sell this guy a Statue for $1000 to some guy in San Jose, CA. Then I get an email 3 months after the purchase, the guy attempted to reverse the charge. I contacted Stripe they were little help, I submitted proof of tracking and that the statue was fully insured. I than attempted to contact the buyer. I sent emails, voicemails and texts. All communication was completely ignored. This guy was trying to rob me. I did a simple google search found out he was a personal trainer. I called any number associated with this man. I spoke with his prior employers, told them the guy is trying to rip me off for $1,000. I saw he had a yelp account so I made yelp accounts accusing him of sexual harassment, if he was going to take money out of my pocket I was going to take it out of his. Once, I did that I know the mother fucker was panicking. He was in a business where he was selling himself. Nobody wants to train with a harasser. Everytime he got a post taken down, I would just create another account put up a knew shitty post accusing him of being a creep. Finally, he emailed me acknowledging I basically made his life hell, that the CC company had sided with me and to please stop! I got my money back and this dude learned a valuable lesson. You never know, who you are fucking with!

@mattynra That’s also a big problem in the collectibles world. We had a similar situation years back. A guy bought a $700 statue, got it abd claimed it arrived in pieces. PayPal sided with humble and he got to return it for a full refund. Well we get the statue back and it’s a different piece. They are all numbered on the base and the broken one was different from the one we sent. Didn’t matter. Ling story short, we only got our money back MONTHS later and we had to file a police report and spent endless hours on this matter. Turns out this guy was doing this type of thing a ton as we read more about his endeavors on a statue forum. Sucks.

I'm assuming he’s one of your loyal customers who is possibly going through some difficulties in life. He’s avoiding you because he’s not too proud of what he did and how he handled his dealings. At the very least, he’s self-aware, so just let it go and move on.

Instead of wasting your time chasing, spend it in doing things that can positively influence your business. Like building a website that’s set up as a membership site where your existing and potential customers can create a profile then log-in to shop and choose their preferred payment method. There are online payment gateways that offer customers the option to pay in installment plans. Also, some e-commerce platforms provide shipping and fulfillment service while marketplaces welcome local merchants.

He’s a loyal customer so he’ll come back, and while he’s gone, value him still. Have him experience something that encourages happy customers. Send him a loyalty thank you discount card, he’ll appreciate it and hopefully help you in promoting your business through word of mouth.

If you need a hand on an online shop, I can definitely help. Just let me know. Goodluck!

He was a loyal customer. The last time he was in was in August. I’ve moved on. I’m just telling a story here and talking about a common problem in this particular business.

I’m guessing I’ll never see him again in fairness as this has happened time and time again over the 10 years we’ve been here. No biggie. It was just a small part of the story here. Thx though!

Hi @blewitt! Apologies. I didn't mean to be offensive in any way.

Right now, I oversee an e-commerce business located in the US. Though face to face customer service is something I don’t have to do since the business is online, my comment, however, describes my story and how I personally deal with online shoppers similar to that customer you just characterized.

From the customer’s point of view and if I’m experiencing some difficulties (financially for instance), that’s how I’d love to be treated.

That’s nice and all but i spoke to this specific person several times. Each time we were told to keep it going and that they are good for it. It was 5 months before we realized that there wasn’t no chance they were coming in. Then 4 more months past since that point. Then he saw me and turned the other way. This person has multiple opportunities to right the wrong. Each time they chose not to leaving me over $2000 out of pocket yet I’m supposed to chase this person further? It’s fine. It’s done and overwith. We cut our losses in 2017 and learned a lot from that experience. Things to do and not to do. Limitations and such. It was a valuable lesson in more ways than one zero chance I reach out to this person again. I wasted too much time initially. Now on the other hand if they reached out to me I would forgive them but I’m not chasing folks anymore.

It’s understandable when we feel like we have to chase customers sometimes so we can keep the business going. However, it’s important to be mindful of the message chasing sends, that it comes from a hotbed of desperation which in most cases ends in desertion. I learned that one of the best possible ways to deal with them is to reach out to them to help them.

I’m happy that you followed your passion and turned it into something real and tangiable! It’s always heart warming to hear fellow entrepreneurial stories that are grounded in realism! There are way to many lies being posted on social media regarding how to build your own business!

I’ve been running my digital agency for 3 years now and have had my share of chasing up payments and clients that do not pay! Personally I feel this is a shortcoming of mine is quick to give up on getting unsettled payments and think that karma will sort it out and for the most part it has been the case and we continue to solider on but I know this can’t be the case for everyone! All businesses have diffent burn rates and cash flow requirements and all the additional admin to keep your books in order is a pain too! It’s improtant that business owners qualify and review their customers If possible. I know that unfortunate incidents like these are sometimes unavoidable but it shouldn’t sour your opinion tomorrow an amazing customer walks in and you build a great relationship that is not only financially rewarding but psychologically

One thing I do have to say That also erks me is if it’s the other way around the customer is quick to bad mouth your business, it really can be an unforgiving endevour at times!

I do still feel I would take these issues any day over going into a big corporate everyday and grinding away for a salary! I’d rather have the freedom to live and die by my decisions than give that up for fake stability of a monthly salary

Hi there fellow small business owner! Thx for the reply and insight. Yeah it's always tough. I truly appreciate my customers. I am friends with a bunch of them. This is just one of those things that kinda stink and comes with the territory. The main point I was trying to get across was to just have common courtesy as a human being. I used the story from the shop to try to push that point across. Ya know? Wishing you nothing but success my friend. Stay in touch as Ill be focusing a bunch on small business issues in upcoming pieces. @chekohler

Yea all what you said are true. Its easy for humans to make promises but hard to fulfil those promises. I'm not a business owner but i think i have failed to fulfil my promise one certain time and that why the article concerns me. I had to print out some works for my school project and i was not with enough money on me. I just had to go and plead with a cyber caefé attendant to help me out. Actually she did helped me out and my bill was around $50. Promised to pay her back the money that following week but things did not work out as planned. It got to 3 weeks and i haven't paid her back. I became guilty within me but still no way to pay. She got angry with and i kept on giving her hope that i would pay her the money. I'm just glad that i paid her the money recently its been up to a month i owe her

@caesar816 The important thing is you did right the wrong. That’s more than most folks do.

Maybe Steven is to busy getting his back shit wiped up by nana and can’t make it in there!

Ah look who made it to the party!!! Even on nana’s day she is wiping.

If there is one thing that nerds suck at its social skills lol... Specifically CONFLICT. Most people don't like conflict, but I can see how big of an issue this must be. A mixture of pride, and embarrassment make this special formula of shame...

Anyways. That sucks man.

Yeah it sucks but it’s part of the Game. We move on. I just like bringing attention to it as it’s something folks do not even think of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55