How I doubled my salary in 6 months – Part 2

in #money6 years ago (edited)

5003118-a-bar-chart-of-british-currency-increasing-in-value~2.jpg

Hey Steemer!

Do you think you’re currently underpaid?

If you do, then this is for you.

If not, then this is even more relevant to you than you think. I’ve always been very well paid, but I realised that my expectations were just too low.

I explained the context for these articles in the introduction:

https://steemit.com/blog/@cryptocrayze/how-i-doubled-my-salary-in-6-months-the-introduction

The preceding article can also be found here:
https://steemit.com/money/@cryptocrayze/how-i-doubled-my-salary-in-6-months-part-1

Now I’ll move on to the second part in the story. The next part is titled:

"Make Yourself Indispensable"

Those three words were more defining than you'd ever believe. I finally made my way through the industry door. I had secured a job. I thought everything was set. But that wasn't true.

People don't just ascend in their careers by mere virtues of being present. People ascend because they're talented, or lynchpins, or loved by everyone, etc. But to a fresh University graduate, securing the job was the bigger picture for me.

However, having signed up to tons (and I mean tons) of recruitment agencies for my industry, I got a call from one of my recruiters. I had a slightly more personal relationship with her than most because I was introduced to her by someone else on LinkedIn. So she took me under her wing. She was a mother, so those maternal instincts possibly came through a bit, making her treat me like I was her own child.

In short, I eventually broke the news to her, I've found a job. I knew that meant she wouldn't get any recruitment fees so I thought she would be unhappy. But she expressed so much joy at my new role. She encouraged me. She praised me. She ensured we would keep in touch.

But most importantly, she told me those words that I'm telling you:
"Make yourself indispensable".

She probably didn't realise, but I took those words like absolute truth. I recognised, I was so busy focusing on acquiring a job, that I never thought about my work ethic having got the job. I never concerned myself with task of flourishing.

So these words, were the only real words of advice I had received. So I rode with them. This defined everything I did thereafter. In the next article I'll go into some of the practical outworkings of this advice.

Conclusion

So before I could make the big bucks, I to be worth the big bucks. Therefore, the principles covered so far are:

  1. Ensure you have clear goals;
  2. Ensure you are resilient; and
  3. Make yourself indispensable.

Next part, we'll pick up the story from once I started work.

Do you like? Then Upvote.
Think others will? Then Resteem
Want to see more? Then Follow.

Cheers,
@CryptoCrayze

Sort:  

interesting..

"Save the cheerleader, save the world."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61553.99
ETH 2881.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54