You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Myths Of Our Economy: There Is An Invisible Hand Above The Market

in #money6 years ago

That was a fascinating little rant there. I really liked the part about how Marx and Smith are in agreement on many things, yet we're told to believe that they were polar opposites.

I am also reminded of this little passage by Jefferson (I know, I've quoted him recently before but this time it's a different part that I'd like to emphasize):

It has been pretended by some, (and in England especially,) that inventors have a natural and exclusive right to their inventions, and not merely for their own lives, but inheritable to their heirs. But while it is a moot question whether the origin of any kind of property is derived from nature at all, it would be singular to admit a natural and even an hereditary right to inventors. It is agreed by those who have seriously considered the subject, that no individual has, of natural right, a separate property in an acre of land, for instance. By an universal law, indeed, whatever, whether fixed or movable, belongs to all men equally and in common, is the property for the moment of him who occupies it, but when he relinquishes the occupation, the property goes with it. Stable ownership is the gift of social law, and is given late in the progress of society.

See original here. Emphasis mine. Jefferson was at the least, utilitarian, and I'm not so sure he was a capitalist based on his statement above.

Your article provides a brief insight into what an anarchist thinks about the notion of property and I found it useful for at least that.

But there was one more thing that came to mind. "Stake based voting". That is what we have here in Steemit, but outside of Steemit, the perversion of the United States is a reflection of what stake based voting does to society. I'ts that plutocracy, you speak of. Some people say we need to get big money out of politics (think Larry Lessig), as an acknowledgement that stake based voting doesn't work.

I will admit to being new to anarchy and that I want to learn more. So far, I see anarchy as the antithesis to plutocracy and concentrations of power. I didn't mean to write such a long comment, but your article was inspiring.

Write on.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for this wonderful addition, @digitalfirehose :-) And I agree that not only Steemit, but no cryptocurrency will "save us" from the dangers both Marx and Smith warned about. I'm really honored by the effort you put in this well thought out and excellently worded response. Thanks again, my friend! :-)

You're welcome, sir. Have a fine day! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85