Shopping Ban Update!

in #money6 years ago

27661357_1224692427662990_1075031704_n2.jpg

I’m officially one month and four days into my shopping ban and am happy to report I’ve fought off all temptations to buy new things. Truthfully, I can only remember being seriously tempted twice, and both times were for books and coffee. I love books and last year I got hooked on Starbucks, so I have been craving takeout coffee badly. Books and coffee goes hand in hand for me. No wonder Chapters has Starbucks right there inside.

27781463_1224692464329653_2082961777_n 1.jpg

So, I haven’t shopped and haven’t felt too much temptation to do so. Hooray!
The only time I’d really felt the urge to shop and spend money was when I discovered new books I really wanted to read or stopped by my favorite health food store.

The toughest part of the ban isn’t that I’m going without anything, it’s simply the act of trying to change my habits.
Shopping was a way to numb all of these negative emotions and it led to lots of unnecessary purchases. I never considered myself to be a shopper before. I didn’t frequent the mall or shop online. At least that’s what I thought – until I moved to Calgary. I didn’t have a social life. So I went shopping, sometimes even when I didn’t want to, just to give myself something to do that also got me out of the house. I never realized how much I did actually use shopping, regardless if I made a purchase or not to cope with depression I was in about missing Toronto and my family.

I want to become a more mindful consumer, so I could enjoy what I have, only buy what I absolutely need and let go of the rest. Saving money would be a bonus.
The rules of my shopping ban is fairly simple. I am allowed to shop for necessities, such as groceries, toiletries, gift for others and items I ran out for myself and my daughter.

What most surprised me is how even one month shopping ban provided me with such surprising and helpful insights about my spending triggers and mental habits. When you do a shopping ban, you quickly realize it’s about way more than money. True awareness is a powerful thing.

Until next time. Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Congrats Eni, I am proud of you as always! ❤

Good post, maybe take advantage of 5 tags total. Get more viewers that way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71181.66
ETH 3647.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75