Storytelling Matters

in #money6 years ago (edited)

I was struggling to find a gift for my Chinese friend's two young boys. He has been extremely good to me and wanted to give a gift that had some meaning to it.

While listening to "Invest Like the Best", one of my favorite podcasts, the guest made an interesting comment - "A lot of the most successful investors in the world started with stamp, card, or coin collections at a young age."

So I had my mother bring over below from the US, gave him below, shared the lesson, and will continue to give his sons different sets in the future.

My point here:

Actual gift = ~$10

Actual gift + a bit of my culture/story/knowledge/habit = >$10 and a smile on his face

Storytelling is the most important skill you can have and cultivate in others.

Sort:  

You got a 2.30% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @feedmytwi!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You got a 1.18% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @feedmytwi!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75