Bartering for Basic Necessities

in #money7 years ago (edited)

Hi there! I’m Amanda from Freedom Acres. I run a YouTube channel, garden, home and essential oil business but sometimes still need a little help making ends meet. I’m thriving as a stay at home single mom because I have learned to BARTER! 

Bartering allows me to stay home with my daughter while still providing for her every need. Bartering also gives me the ability to put a little cash in savings each month. Someday that money will go toward building our own home! 

Essentially, I’m bartering my way toward a debt-free lifestyle AND a new house!  


I’ve bartered for haircuts, oil changes, chiropractic adjustments, and even medical debt! The possibilities are endless! 

Have you ever bartered for basic needs like shelter? Food? 

Many people think they don’t have anything to offer and can therefore NOT barter for big ticket items like this. That simply isn’t true. What all people have in equal amounts is TIME. How we choose to spend our time frees up more for some of us than others, but we all get a daily allowance of 24 hours.  


 I’ve bartered my time by cleaning, sitting, mending, listening, gardening and cooking. We all have a unique set of skills to offer. I can guarantee you, friend, there’s someone out there who needs what you can do. The real trick is finding those people. 

I NEVER advocate looking in places like Craigslist or Facebook groups to barter your time. If you don’t personally know someone, or at least have a close mutual friend, assume it isn’t safe. 

Instead reach out to friends and family first. If nothing else, they may be able to give you a lead. 

Don’t be afraid to ask. Fear can stop us in our tracks and quickly prevent any progress we could otherwise make. Be cautious, yes. Not fearful. 

Who knows? Your proposed barter could be an answer to someone else’s prayer. 

This is an unusual way to extend your resources, but this wasn’t always so. People have been bartering skills and services for centuries. It only makes sense, especially when you run out of spare change. 

Be courageous friends! ~Until next time.  

Sort:  

Amanda this is an excellent post. I used to barter, but got out of the habit. I need to do it again. Thanks for stirring an old idea and making it new.

Thanks Kate! :) Bartering has been of such benefit to my family, I think everyone should give it a try!

I love the concept of bartering! Unfortunately most of us are so imprisoned by the current currencies that we cannot make it a normal part of life. Keep pressing on! Perhaps we can change this :)

I would love a more in-depth post about maybe a few of your barters. I have done a few barter exchanges with people I know- as you said FB and craigslist are not my thing plus I am very leery of people.

I have a cosmetology license from when I was in high school and it's amazing what you can get if you offer someone a few haircut

Best part about bartering is the man doesn't take his cut :-)
I often attend Rainbow gatherings where people form trading circles as cash is frowned upon at gatherings unless it's a donation to the magic hat at supper time. Around Panama, it's more of a gifting thing with extra produce and the like and some things always on the stove for guests that drop by. No need to avoid the tax man here because he doesn't exist yet.
Great post...Following for more
Cheers

Congratulations @freedomacres! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69084.83
ETH 3770.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52