Money Realization "The blueprint for becoming real BROKE"

in #money6 years ago


One day, a friend of mine asked me, "What is the definition of money?" I got stunned by that question, I don't know how to respond, I just jokingly answered "money is a piece of s#!t" and I walked away. That question lingers on me when I was alone so, I figured, these piece of papers are killing me, so, my answer earlier is somehow relevant. Whether we like it or not, we all have to deal with this all the time. Have you ever wonder why? What is your definition of money anyway? 

I was surprised when I also asked few people about this, most of them took time before they respond, some scratched their head as they look far away to a lalaland (Same reaction as mine basically). It appears that most of us are just dealing with it because we have to. Then I asked myself again what the definition of money is? I know this topic is really broad and there's no right or wrong answer to this. The definition I come-up with is just a cold hard fact, I guess "Money is just an instrument to measure the value of something and often use to measure the value of one individual as well; the more you have it, the more people care and hang around with you, and it goes the other way around if you have less."

Sounds a little bitter huh?, well, I've expressed how frustrated I am about it and that is just one of many reasons why I hate it. Money is something that I rarely have and when I have it I usually ended up doing stupid things with it. I admit that I made mistakes in the past which brought me into a deep hole. Cleaning the mess I made is not easy; it requires tedious hours on stressful jobs and less time for important people in my life just to cope-up. So I decided to assess myself and try to figure out why I am still struggling financially at my age?

I was born and raised in a poor family in the Philippines. I did my parents plan to finally stop the long history of our family's poor life "get good grades, establish a stable source of income through your job and you are pretty much ready to face the life." Obviously, that formula is lacking a very important piece. As I look back through my past actions, I found out that I spent more than what I was earning (mostly for pleasurable activities and things). I also entered a very serious stage of life called: marriage and kids, without properly preparing for it. What I did is comparable to diving into the deep water and only learning how to swim while I'm on it, that's deadly isn't? Well, that's exactly what happened to my marriage as it didn't last long. That's how I came up with a realization that "Lack of education about money is the birth of all the hurdles I have in life." I should've delayed everything until I'm financially ready. I didn't recognize that the question of my friend is going to be a wakeup call. Life has beaten me up and it took time for me to realize that I have to stand up and fight for this widespread decease. Yes, I call it decease especially in our country. We must take action to stop it. The key is to educate ourselves and be conscious about the result of every financial action that we are taking today. 

Excuse me for sharing a little bit about myself. I just thought maybe that is a good example since I am broke. How to become broke is a piece of cake, Just basically spend more than what you are earning, don't plan your financial spending activities, just keep on spending and don't worry about tomorrow. and be stupid about money, as simple as 1,2…3.  Imagine what will happen if we can flip that behavior the other way around? 

Money is valuable, that's how it is in every society. Again, whether we like it or not, at the end of the day we still have to deal with it, but the first thing we have to wonder before we even think of how to obtain it is how to manage and use it wisely.

"Without proper education about money, life will just continue to bring us sucker punches that we are unconsciously creating."

 If you are broke, don't worry, they say "being broke is just temporary" so in that sense we must see hope. You are not alone, together let us educate ourselves and be financially literate. Let us all share beneficial knowledge about money. If you like what you read, follow me! And feel free to leave your thoughts in the comment section. What is your realization about money? Stay tuned for my next article. CHEERS! Thank you for reading and have a great day. 

Sort:  

On a deeper level. I believe having a better experience with money, comes from a mindset around things like our own worthiness, our past experiences around money and the truth in it's value.

Money can be perceived as an energy, flowing. We receive what we believe we are worthy of. We receive what we believe is true (from past beliefs).

Living with a lack mindset = Lack
Living with an abundant mindset, believing you are worthy. (Even though the past may not have demonstrated it = Abundance

When we are in an abundant mindset we see opportunity. We see things for what they are in their true value. We are grateful.

I think it's about changing our relationship to money. Too many people allow the measurement of money define their worthiness, when in reality, money has nothing to do with our worthy one is.

Hearing the expression, "the rich get richer and the poor get poorer", supports this theory of lack mindset vs abundant mindset.

Always a great topic to write about. I look forward to your future posts :)

Oh wow, you even jump back to my very first post. Thanks for checking my page out @tressareid. I actually have newer post relevant to your comment. You are right! it is all about our mindset towards things. But isn't ironic how poor hates rich but deep inside they also want to be rich? or maybe it is a good example of a paradox. aha, you just gave me an idea, maybe I can insert this into my newest post. Hold up. haha! Well, anyway it's been a pleasure. Thank you again and nice to meet you @tressareid see you around hope you are having an awesome day:)

yes, I thought I would stop by and check out your posts.I meant to read your latest post as well, but you're writing is good and very authentic. Keep it up. You'll do great here.

I think that alone, "the poor hating the rich" is a mindset that needs adjusting. There's is no reason to hate, and that hate could be the very reason why the poor never see wealth. It's all very interesting the way the mind works around the topic of money.

I look forward to your future posts, take care :)

Thanks, @tressareid. Yeah right! I myself is very exposed to poverty, our country is a third world country (Philippines) and I've witnessed and currently experiencing this kind of living all though I'm starting to live with an abundant mindset now. One day I want to make a contribution to change this kind of mentality here in our country. But I have to show a result first so I can be a good example. By the way, where are you in canada if you don't mind me asking? you take care too. Have a great day :)

My heart goes out to those that struggle with that level of poverty. I truly wish we lived in a more fair world.

What an amazing vision and mission you have and I wish you all the success in the world, look at the impact you could potentially have in the future. Don't give up!

This post is excellent. Hope you post every day. Just stopped by to see what you're up to over here. You've made a friend. See you around. :)

Oh wow! it's a great honor having a very highly intellectual friend. Thank you for the compliment and nice to meet you @omnitaylor :) High five!

Followed you on Twitter.

One of my mentors once said,

Step 1 to not being broke is to stop saying that to yourself.

:)

Great first post, the only thing you are missing is a source of the picture, but everything else is great.

Thank you so much @redbikk, I didn't know that I also have to include that. Okay, I will include that next time :) You have a very interesting picture. Do you play guitar too??

Thank you so much @redbikk, I didn't know that I also have to include that. Okay, I will include that next time :) You have a very interesting picture. Do you play guitar too??

If I understood you correctly...

Being broke - Easy as 1-2-3
1- Just basically spend more than what you are earning
2- Don't plan your financial spending activities
3- Be stupid about money

Not Being broke - Easy as 1-2-3
1- Just basically spend LESS than what you are earning
2- PLAN your financial spending activities
3- Be SMART about money

Thanks for dropping by @goldkey I just followed you. I'm looking forward in reading your valuable contents :)

Money is the thing that buy you other things, not happiness :)

@oraclegirl thanks for dropping by and for reminding me of a very substantial fact:) God bless you :)

To answer your question on my post, your posts earn for 7 days before payout. https://steemit.com/faq.html#When_can_I_claim_my_rewards

Reading FAQS is something I am complacent with. That's shameful I know. But thank you for sharing the link and answering my question. Steemians live with this rule and they still stay so I must live with it too :)

Hey! I just followed and upvoted you :) follow back and we can help each other succeed @mahamlicious

follow ✔ :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62500.50
ETH 2936.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59