My Financial Starting Point

in #money6 years ago (edited)

The first time I read this book It instantly grabbed my attention and I finished the whole audiobook in 2 days. Time flew by and on that long drive from Phoenix to San Diego it was nice to take the time to learn something new. I wasn’t very familiar with money ‘financial education’ besides having a job and spending that money again. 

What I like about the book Rich dad poor dad is that it immediately grabs your attention. I find it a very easy and enjoyable read and this book really sparked my interest towards investing. The major topic in this book for me was “acquiring assets’. Robert Kiyosaki states that assets are purchases that make you money. An example of this is a dividend paying stock or a property that you rent out. The goal should be to acquire as much assets so the assets can pay for your living expenses. This would be called financial freedom. After reading this book I really got a basic understanding of how ‘rich people’ think and spent their money compared to ‘poor people’. It also taught me that getting a lot of money doesn’t solve financial problems. The cashflow (spending of your earned money) is way more important. 

Robert Kiyosaki talks respectfully about the difference in thinking between rich and poor people. He really wrote this book in a way where it is hard to not grow and develop yourself. 

Value


Energy: 
This book was the start of my journey towards financial independence. I got so much energy from this book because it really changed my framework on how to think about and use money. It got me so excited to look for all the possibilities of gaining wealth. It started my search for assets, more knowledge and it started my journey towards financial intelligence.

Focus on assets: It made me take a look at my spending habits. The book made me aware of the existence of assets and because of this knowledge is started to notice them. It made me focus on learning more about finance.

Enjoyable: It was a really enjoyable read and made my trip through parts of the dessert really fun.

Confidence: It gave me confidence and a new goal to search for assets. There is a lot more to learn about how to manage money. I was getting excited to get out of the ‘rat race’ (9-5 job).

Multiple sources of income: It showed me another way of earning money while not being present at a job. Then it made me realize it allowed me to earn a second income while being at a job. Then I started thinking that you can have multiple sources of income. I learned that high income is not the road towards riches. It is more important what you do with it. 

Thanks

Thank you Robert Kiyosaki for the value you added to my life. You made my trip really enjoyable and you changed my mental framework for acquiring financial freedom. The story you told grabbed my attention and really made me pursue the journey towards financial freedom. There is so much more to learn about money and I am very grateful you helped me with my very first steps towards my financial goals. 

For more content please visit: global-sebastian.com




Sort:  

I will check this book out. Thanks very much. I am especially often looking for a good audio book especially. I often wonder about the perspective of the rich getting richer and how they do it.

I definitely recommend this one. Thank you for your reply.

This book was published in 2001. I just went to order it, but since it is from 2001, I can likely find it in the library at this point. Is the content still relevant to today's market?

For sure. The only thing is that this book specifically focusses on the 'blueprint' for making money from money as you said. If you are really looking for a direct action plan I would suggest this book : https://global-sebastian.com/2018/08/19/money-master-the-game-mastering-my-own-finance/ . This book is really geared towards investing. I liked reading Rich Dad Poor Dad first. (the audiotape is nice).

But to answer your question. The content is definitely relevant!

Ok, then I will grab it. I read the reviews for it on Amazon. I will check the library tonight and if they don't have it, I'll just buy it and donate it to them after I listen to it or read it.

That's awesome! Im excited to hear what you thought of it.

Congratulations @global-sebastian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @global-sebastian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62