A financial lesson that I wished I had learn't earlier in life.

in #money7 years ago

A pet bugbear of mine, is use of the word saving when investing would be the more appropriate word. Often I find it’s incorrect use is actually done by financial expects on online articles and TV programs.

So lets take a look at what I think the difference is and why it bugs me that it took me so long to figure it out.

When you save, the intention is that you accumulate a certain amount of money to spend – ether on a tangible item or experience. The goal is to get to that amount, then spend it – or have it in reserve for spending later as savings.

With investing, you want to use your money to make more money. It’s all about making your money work – 24/7 365 days a year. You have no intention of ever spending the capital.

The difference is huge. I was always a good saver – being careful with money was instilled in me at an early age – I started with a paper round at 12 and all through school had a least one job, but generally two. And I constantly saved. Even to this day – it seems “wrong” to go through a month without having putting a little aside.

But I saved – which means, at times, I spent much of my savings. Bicycles, sports gear and fishing gear when I was younger – holidays when I was older. I never wiped myself out and compared to most, always had a cushion. It also meant, bar some debt I had while running my business, I have never had any personal debt – never had a store card, personal loan, HP finance – not even a mortgage. So my savings did one huge thing, save me from paying interest.

But had I split this extra cash into savings and investments I would have done so much better. I wish I had done this at an early age. Image even a small amount compounding steadily from my first paper round 35 years ago to my last job a few years ago. 35 years to compound, to take part in bull runs. Basically just to amass.

So teach your kids the difference early on – don’t just stop at teaching them about the importance of saving. Split saving/ investing 75%/25%. Open a low fee stockbroking account or ETF account and get them to start. If that’s not possible, how out about a yearly stock picking competition between the family for a small prize?

Starting early would have changed my life – luckily though, I eventually did find out the difference. I have a few friends that are well over forty that still have not learn’t.

Sort:  

I think this is a great post. Many people struggle with this issue, so I'm glad you got it figured out for yourself. That's important. It's the get rich slow method. Put some money in a low cost investment account, invest it in index funds, and leave it alone. I've found that there are a lot of great tips about this and other topics here: http://clark.com/personal-finance-credit

Maybe it will help others!

cheers for that interesting looking site - will take some time on it.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71