STOP Copying Your Mentors Blindly!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #money6 years ago (edited)

Are you copying your mentor because they tell you exactly what to do?

Wealthygorilla.com

Grant Cardone

Okay, I love Grant Cardone. I would advise anyone to listen to his Audiobooks and check out his youtube channel. However, don't make the mistake of taking his advice without applying it to your own situation. He has amazing principles and ideas and yes he is arrogant, but can you blame a guy who made over $500.000.000 out of nothing? Let's just call it the Justin Bieber Effect. This guy will change your life if you take the time to study him!

What To Do?

So I love Grant Cardone as I mentioned above, however if I took his advice without applying a filter I would be broke by now. Instead, I apply his knowledge to my personal situation and I'm heading towards a very very bright financial future. Let me give you an example. Grant states that owning a plane does not make any sense on paper, but he has noticed he earned many times over since he bought his first plane. This does not mean you should go out and buy a plane yourself ;) Take your own situation into account.

Another smaller example is that of, you not spending $4 on a coffee every day won't make you rich. Well maybe it won't however if you are currently in bad debt, or are merely surviving having another $120 a month could be a good place to start investing.

Grain of Thought

It is important to take what our mentors say with a grain of salt, a grain of thought you might say. Don't simply copy and paste what they are doing, think for yourself. Is their advise directly applicable to your situation, or do you have to change it somehow to fit your personal goals and needs!

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks @tts now people can enjoy my post whilst listening to it a well! :)

Well said @markdeheide, I think we just put them on another level of pedestal that we forget to adapt what they're saying to fit our personal circumstances.. Hence I follow a selected few to cut down the noise.

yes do not follow too many and make sure to adapt their advise to your personal situation indeed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54