REALIZING THE TRUE WORTH OF MONEY

in #money5 years ago (edited)

At only 17 years old, I started my own business. My whole life I nagged my parents for expensive things I want, being told that money doesn't grow on trees. I just couldn't understand...

I ride motocross. Since 10th grade I home schooled with CyberSchool, graduating at the age of 17. The day I received my certificate, my dad said,"Well done! You just went from being a scholar to being jobless."

So, 'jobless-me' decided to start an online store, selling motocross gear and accessories in South Africa. My uncle built my website and we struggled for hours and hours to get it up and running. As a teenager I didn't really have a need for money, obviously I WANT money. But there was no rent or bills to pay and no food to buy. 

My dad, being as smart as he is, gave me some financial responsibilities. I had to buy my own helmets, boots, and pay for petrol to ride my bike. This gave me a whole new reason to pay attention to my shop. 

One month in, working really hard. I only had two customers. I did everything possible to get those two. The money I received wasn't even enough to buy myself a short and a t-shirt. Never mind buying petrol! 

I have seen money out of an adult's point of view, not a child's. It changed the way I respect my sponsors, the food I eat and my parents' hard work. 

I wish every teenager could experience making money first hand before throwing a tantrum about something they can't have. 

THANKS FOR READING!

PLEASE UPVOTE AND RESTEEM.


Sort:  

It's important to understand how much is involved in making money. Having a job can be hard but having a business is even harder. But it feels really good when you do make sales and earn your own money from your own hard work. I'm glad you had this experience and I see that you learned a lot from it!

I am very grateful to see what it's like. Especially realizing the value of the products I get for free from my sponsors!

Maney is very needed of our life.everybody want maney.thanks for sharing this post.

The life evantually teachs the economy lessons to everyone. But having that lectures at very early ages expands the perception of money. Thanks for sharing your very unique life experience with us @megan35

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55