Just Got Paid in 'Island Currency'.. Print Your Own!

in #money6 years ago (edited)

A friend asked for some help with his domain hosting, paid me with these.. He said they are worth one village hour, each... sweet! Works for me!
Island Currency

Make your own money! Why not? What do you think? Would you accept this payment?

Sort:  

what does that mean? one village hour? Can you go, say... to a housepainter in the village with that and pay him for 2 hours of painting your house, and than he goes to a farmer in the village and buys 2 hours worth of vegs? I've heard of local projects like that before but don't get if that is what it means

A village hour is equal to a sustainable hour's wage, in your local community. In our community this about $15.. Pay rate is negotiable.. I get paid 3VH/hr for technical work. Village hours are just a unit of measurement..

I am admin at villages.io, a mutual credit system for trading village hours back by community members..

Essentially, these are elaborate gift certificates and are really, only tradable with the guy who printed and gave these to me, but I could probably pass them on, too because they are beautiful.

I am hiring him to do some yard work for me, today and I will pay him with these notes.. 20 units/hr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69271.04
ETH 3847.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71