Further ponderations on the economics of a move to Southern Europe

in #money5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Further ponderations on the economics of a move to Southern Europe


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

Check out Greece, that should be very sunny and cheap

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers for the tip, I will!

Posted using Partiko Android

I read the sunny south and checked your post. In case you didn't know, I am a 37 year old Dutchman who moved to Portugal last year ( to cure depression and live a life closer to what my heart tells me ). My twinsister and her family of 4 did the same, although she wasn't depressed merely burnt out.

If you wanna talk about your ideas, you know where to find me. You might also want to consider to camp / stay over here ( or possibly at my twin sister's place ) and get a touch of a different kind of life, outside of the system. Her family is about to start a mini camping on their 2.5 acre land ( with a huge tipi tent, a guest house for max 4 people and a camper.

Hey that sounds great, got to love Steem for these kinds of connections, I'll keep you mind if i decide to head down that way next spring summer (rest of this year's already booked up with other plans!)

I hope the move is working out for all of you for your various reasons so far.

Cheers!

I completely missing ''value after one year''.
I would always buy the land , fix up the place. Maybe rent out the house and still live in a yurt on the same land?

You're totally right, it's just to get something decent I'd have to sink most of my wealth into it, and that's a risk I don't want to take when I already own a house in the UK!

Especially with Brexit and our potential change in status around the corner.

Awesome! No idea where I will be next Spring / Summer. I don't plan too far ahead. Although I'm thinking of visiting India in October.

The move ( I read movie for a moment ) is definitely working out for me in many different ways.

Obrigado! :>)

Ah, all the dreams of doing it somewhere else and settling for what we know! We were going to do a similiar move from UK. In the end came home to Australia. Currently? Damp and expensive. But we are probably much better off.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a sexy spreadsheet. I really dig a good spreadsheet. I like how you laid everything out. I have heard that Malta has some really crypto-friendly laws.

I know what you mean about spreadsheets!

I've never considered Malta. My gut tells me it might be quite expensive though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like you need to make another sheet to run the numbers! :) It is pretty much a given if my wife and I have a big decision coming up, there will be a spreadsheet involved. She has just resigned herself to that fact...

I know that feeling of being anxious once you get an idea in your head! Sometimes we just want to run with it and execute! I am glad you are thinking it through carefully as these typenof decisions need patience and planning.

Posted using Partiko iOS

And I'm quite happy where I am, so am in no rush to change!

Posted using Partiko Android

You need to learn the lingo if your gonna go south, or maybe you already know it?

How about buying a camper van and living out of that? Park on public highways and bribe the cops to leave you alone? I'm full of great ideas huh?

I've always fancied a camper van - shame I have a mild phobia of driving!

Also I like the idea of settling somewhere and growing things rather than being nomadic.

Van as a base is a good idea though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice report! Whatever you do I hope you enjoy it and have a lot of fun!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @revisesociology! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 comments. Your next target is to reach 6500 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi, @revisesociology!

You just got a 1.38% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97