The Hundred Dollar Bill is Fake News - Fun With Money

in #moneyisdumb6 years ago (edited)

Fun With.png

Working at a cannabis dispensary, I get paid in cash. Don't let the picture deceive you... That money in my hand is about what it costs for my family to just survive for a month.


I noticed something a little funny about one of the hundreds I got the other day...

The Year: 1969

I'm assuming this bill spent years buried in the ground... I mean it's still crisp, and nearly fifty years old.


Anyway, the weird thing I noticed is Ben Franklin's expression.

In the above picture, Franklin is clearly smiling. In the new hundreds, he most certainly is not. Check it out.

Untitled design (1).png

See it? Not only is he not the slightest bit jolly in the new portrait, but he was given a lips-pursed, judgmental look. His brow is furrowed, and he looks concerned about something.


So what is this crap?

It's pretty simple, ladies and gentlemen. You can't believe what you're told about history anymore. This may be a subtle example, but I think it's a strong one. This is the new contemporary take on Benjamin Franklin, the quintessential founding father. That first guy looks like someone I could hang out with, maybe have a drink or two. That second guy... well, he looks disappointed in me. He's never going to be satisfied, and frankly I don't give a shit what he thinks.

Fortunately, I still see Benjamin Franklin in the old light. I don't understand why this progressive nightmare we're living ever needed to go after a true genius such as Franklin. It's not like the guy posed for a new picture... he was dead. Artists had to work very hard on this project to artificially create the disapproval and cynicism that we now see on Ben's face.


Changing history is a dangerous game, no matter how small the detail.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99