California Sunsets #40 ~ MONOCHROME MONDAY

in #monochromemonday6 years ago

This is my entry for the # #monochromemonday
hosted by @old-guy-photos.

"Ripple Effect"

In early March, when the heavy rains fall in Los Angeles, much of the rain collects and runs off into the Pacific Ocean. One of the local run-offs into the ocean is located in Santa Monica at Pico Boulevard.

Here is the unique ripple that occurs after the rains and when the
Pacific Ocean is at high tide.

Click image to view full size.

Mar2c (2).jpg

Photo taken in Santa Monica here

For a different perspective please visit California Reflections

Thank you for visiting and interesting comments get Upvoted.

(All images are by the author and original content, created expressly for Steemit).

(© 2018 @armentor. All rights reserved.)

Sort:  

A star picture!

Thank you brotha. It was quite different that day.

You have many shots from that run-off. This one is trippy with those ripples. I was down there a couple of days ago and they did the annual fill with the sand so it wont drain into the ocean.

Its completely filled now. just biked passed it today. The one up by Chanel Island is still filled up and is great for shots which I hope to capture tomorrow.

I'll be down before noon, bringing the bike so let take some pictures of that and see if the baywatch boat is still there and also go down to VBL today.

That is very artistic and works for me on many levels! A fine capture, my friend! Great to see you in the tag!

Thank you. Got lucky being down there with the high tide and the outlet. You probably know better than I on how currents change when that happens.

That is absolutely amazing, good capture of such unique moment. You are lucky to live in there and been able to see everything with your own eyes.

Thank you. It was really different.. kinda reminded me of placed along Long Island. Yes, I am very fortunate and grateful I ended up here and try to enjoy as much as I can.

beautiful picture with black and white. wish you to be the best @armentor

Thank you!

The effect of the waves is really fantastic, I would go to say that they look like stairs. I love the reflection produced by the sun, it is really intense.

Yes, it was a pleasant surprise to see that.

Every parts of image is nice

Thanks man!

Wow, such weird waveshapes in greyscale! I had never seen something like this. The first thing I thought of was a volcano where lava gets solidified in wave-like patterns. And the sun in the background with the clouds. It all looks so magnificent! It actually reminds me of a mixture between nuclear explosions and fantasy landscapes.

Awesome shot. Congrats. :)

Edit: I'm really wondering how this ripple effect is produced. What kind of madness would lead to different currents at the same time on the same space of water? So crazy.

Congratulations @armentor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Superb photo click..
Perfect moment , perfect time and fabulous concept and awesome photography @armentor

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99