MONOCHROME MONDAY

in #monochromemonday6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the #monochromemonday hosted by @old-guy-photos.

Noravank
is a 13th-century Armenian monastery, located 100 miles (122 km) outside of Yerevan (Armenia). Founded in 1205 there are 3 churches. This photo is taken from inside the Surb Astvatsatsin Church

Churh.jpg

Click image to view full size.

Thank you for visiting and interesting comments get Upvoted.

(All images are by the author and original content, created expressly for Steemit).

(© 2018 @armentor. All rights reserved.)

Sort:  

@armentor, If i remember, when we went it was partly cloudy that day which caused that cool effect. I remember the caves were close by as well. You should post those pictures.

I have those photos and will put together a longer blog.. the oldest winery in the world!

Great picture! The doors were not as tall and wide back then.

Thank you. As you know from many of the old churches in France, narrow door and with glass, the windows were narrow as well. check the link and see the outside stairs.

Amazing picture. I checked out the location and saw the steep steps to get to that door. Which also explains why she appears to be holding on for dear life!

Yes. it was a bit scary climbing up the steps, not chichen itza scary but close! There were also other lower levels and caves as well. What a trip. Litterially1

Wow. Man you are so right on with Chichenitza. I went there in the early 90s and my GF wouldn't even climb up it was so steep. She not my GF anymore. Thanks for bringing that memory back!

I like how outside is so high key you dont see what is there. Brilliant.

Exactly. Thanks... I just happen to be in the middle of the Armenia mountains at an old monastery! Check out the link and you will see the step steeps to get up there. Not as step as some of the Mayan pyramids, but still.

This is great! :)

Awesome shot! This photo has tension and suspense like a Hitchcock movie! Instant-share!

Great interpretation @keithboone. I knew it was kinda mysterious in a way, especially in mono. Thank you.

It's something to do with not seeing what's outside the door... my first thought was that this was at a great height, and I thought "Don't fall" or perhaps "Don't jump!" I realize this may be at ground level, but I had an instant reaction of vertigo.

your instinct was right out. go to the google map link and see the stairs outside. It is quite a fall!

That is really impressive, founded 1205 and still in relative good condition. I like the door with its pattern, it must be metal, but may be wood?

It was surprisingly. More so given all the earthquakes they have. The doors were of wood and metal for the hinges.

Thank you for the information. Armenians live next to us. I never knew that Armenians have monasteries. I thought they had mosques.

This is pure skill. This is called creating a photograph not capturing it.
A lovely picture. Hope you will be the winner

Very good picture... The size of the door is so curious, you have a lot of talent and the model looks very good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84