Monochrome Monday

mono.jpg

Monochrome Monday

This is an initiative by @old-guy-photos and I have been wanting to participate - but alas - me and remembering what day of the week it is!! Hit and miss!! I need to put it on my calendar.

That would be an excellent idea if I would look at my calendar.

Oh, life is so complicated.

But if you do know what day Monday is and if you happen to have a camera - go forth and find things to capture which fit that description.

Or, if you know how to edit - that is also an option...

Then, you use the #monochromemonday and tag @old-guy-photos and you are set!!!

I love the texture of the bark of this tree and how much is going on!! So many patterns and textures.
A tree which has seen a bit of life, I am sure.

This photo was taken with an iPhone 6 and slightly edited in iPhoto.

Imgur

We are having a party at the Freewrite House you don't want to miss!!!

Imgur

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

Water - Deranged Photography Contest

Day 6 - Why am I still on Steemit - Day 5 - 30 Day Writing Challenge

Baby Chick

My Dogs Must be Crazy!!!

5 Witnesses and my Why - Day 4

Week 5 - Pay it Forward Contest

Day 3 - Trying to Chose the Best Thing Steemit Has Done for Me

How to Handle a Windfall of 1000 Steem

Daily Prompt

Take it to the Streets/ Photo Contest

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Imgur

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Sola and earn SOL: https://sola.ai/posts/MDExZWV
Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

I am glad you jumped in the tag. I will try to try to remember to do a prompt in chat.

Thank you!! and I will try to go to your post first lol

That is interesting @mariannewest with the texture and formation of that bark. You can see patterns that seem to fool the eye. I noticed right off a Space Alien Creature in there ( look to the right and you see some orange tint and the head with black eyes and body with left arm coming down) ;)

I knew it!! something was up with that tree!!! 😜

@mariannewest,

Marianne, I noticed two things about your post: Firstly, you're a writer (I'm a poet); secondly, you managed to post a colorized photograph in a Black & White Contest (so did I).

You would think that given our obsession with words ... instructions. But, as I explain to my daughter ... I'm a writer, not a reader. In any event, I think I've got you beat. Mine wasn't even a photograph. Ha! If you're interested:
https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/stands-it-alone-poem

I've been meaning to check out the free-write sites for months. Never any time. Perhaps sometime soon.

BTW, the bark does have an interesting texture.

Oh, thank you for calling me a writer 😄

As to the photo, it is monochrome, not black and white. So, within the same color, but different variations :)

And now would be a good time to join the freewrite. We are doing a super fun contest. But to participate, you have to register by Sunday night.

@mariannewest,

I thought it was B&W ... I stand corrected. Well, that ruined my humor entirely, didn't it? :-)

But, as I explain to my daughter ... I'm a writer, not a reader.

Prophetic.

I'll go look into the free-write stuff. Thanks for the heads up.

They do 5 minute writes which I have done a few. Would be fun for you. Set the timer, and start writing on the prompt de jour!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-07T22:45:48
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 401.55/800.00
Total Photos: 57
Total comments: 41
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.81 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Very simply, a beautiful foto.

I've always been drawn to photographing the bark of trees. There is something so unique to each one, their own fingerprint they share with us.

So true!! and the older the tree - the more interesting it is!!

It was a simple yet amazing photography. I am face the same difficulty with challenges. I want to participate in poetry challenge but there are none that I could find. :(

Oh, but there are so many poetry contests going on!! Are you in the Isle of Write Discord? So many poets there. I am sure you could find a challenge.

Hey, I found the channel on discord there. Thank you. Yes, there are many poets there. I hopefully will find a challenge there. :)

And of course, you are always welcome to do the freewrite prompt and turn it into a poem. Many do.

How do I gain more followers of the same community?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06