Monochrome Monday: Czech Dog

in #monochromemonday7 years ago

One of my favourite photos ever, and I'm not even sure why:


Olympus XA, Iflord FP4+, negative scanned with Nikon Coolscan V ED

I saw this scene a long time ago, driving through Czechoslovakia in the 1980s. The tower was in a small town overlooking a river, with a bendy road passing it, that is all I remember, as I didn't stay, just passing through.

The dog was posing nicely for me, all it took was throwing a pebble to make him look the right way.

Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Nice photo and great trick to realize it!
I once had my dog Mia to help while taking photos of flamingos. They were standing in a pond, looking at me. It was to static. I let Mia sit and approached another 100m. Still skeptical, they looked at me, but did not move. Getting the camera with the tele ready, I called Mia. When she started running towards me, the flamingos began to run and take of an me: clickclickclickclickclick...... 😉
Have a nice day, my friend!

Like a shepherd dog for flamingos!

Indeed! 😃
Normally it's not great to have a dog you when one intends to photograph animals, but in that case it was an advantage!
Could be a good article to post here! 🤔

Great photograph!
I'll hazard my own guess as to why you might like it so much, or at least why I like it. ;)
Phenomenal composition!
It really ticks all of the boxes, you've got two sets of strong lines that lead you through the picture: the trees, and the edges of the walls and roofs. These lines also nearly lie on the grid lines of the rule of thirds, vertical and horizontal.
The dog is in a great "frame" within the picture, and is posed interestingly.
Nice level of contrast between the black and white parts of the picture too!

All in all, an absolutely wonderful photo!

Thank you! You make me blush 8-).

I think your analysis is a good one! Often, when I'm done making and processing a photo, I try to forget about the rules and tricks and just look at it to see if it is OK, letting instinct take over. It's when I start "sinning" against the rules and also forget about them 8-)

The "rules" are meant to be understood, then broken or followed at will. I'd say your approach is just fine! :P Sticking to just the rules makes for technically "sound" photos, but often the lack that human touch.

Really nice one!

I live here in the Czech Republic, and glad to say that once you get outside of Prague, those small towns still have the same look and feel :)

Thanks for sharing!

You are welcome. I've been to Prague a lot, but I like the small towns in the countryside even better. I should have taken notes, because now I don't know where I took the photo.

Very interesting shot. Attracted my opinion. Thank you @ocrdu

My pleasure.

It's because of the doggie! Must be the doggie :D
I was scrolling down the photo and I absolutely didn't expect to see him there.

I liked that dog, it was friendly and standing in the right spot 8-).

He definitely chose the perfect spot to pose. But would scare the crap out of me at first I bet...

nice photo :)))))))))))))))))))

he look like a wolf

I know, but he was just a friendly old dog 8-).

Great pic. Always like black and white photos

That dog adds a lot of character to this image. Nice capture, and a happy coincidence the hound poked its head out while you were around!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66739.81
ETH 3087.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73