You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Monochrome Monday

@old-guy-photos,

I was all excited at first as I thought this was one of your Guess-What-It-Is challenges. I knew immediately: A trailer hitch for a 1984 Ford Bronco.

But then it turned out to be a post about "being one color." Crushed. And so, when I listened to Rainy Day People, I was already in the mood. :-)

I love Gordon Lightfoot. He writes lyrics like a poet.
.


.
There's no real reason to call in @dswigle but I thought she'd enjoy listening to some Ol' Guys' music.

Quill

Sort:  

Oh yes Gordon is a great one! I been a fan forever. Of course he hails from your neck of the woods.

Oh no, trust me Denise openly and vehemently hates most all of my favorites. Well to be honest there are a few we both appreciate like Pavarotti and Taylor Swift. The problem is she is an in-the-closet country music fan and I am slowly bringing her to accept and embrace the fact. Baby steps, my friend. Lets just say she wont be posting any Willie, Waylon, Hank, or Merle any time soon LOL.

@old-guy-photos,

I've got your back on this one, Ol' Guy. Here's an interesting point upon which to muse (@dswigle): Listen to the lyrics. Country music tends to create lyrics that are far better "poetry" than do most other genres (I couldn't care less about genres ... a good song is a good song). And, the lines between modern country and pop have dramatically blurred. Taylor Swift started out country and a lot of country can be heard in the Eagles, Bob Seeger, etc.

Denise ... listen to these lyrics ... if you consider "poker" a metaphor for "life," this is an incredibly potent poem: Ideas, ideals and insights. I would kill to have come up with some of those lines:
.


.
Quill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59856.14
ETH 2986.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63