Protect Yourself Bangkok Thailand monomad

in #monomad5 years ago

When the restaurant owner is out to play, the cloth barrier keeps the criminals away in Bangkok Thailand.

u8ov8ooc01.jpg

The cloth is not even covering the entrance to this place, which is guarded by a sign telling when the owners will return. Perhaps this protection is only to keep the counter area clean.

I can’t imagine someone in this neighborhood trying to break in and steal something from a closed restaurant anyway. I know there must be crime in Bangkok, but I never saw it.

What I did see were many secrurity systems like this one. Often a sheet of plastic and a bungee cord is enough to protect a closed and unattended food cart or stall.

In this case, the owners were gone for over a week and nothing ever changed here until they got back.

I ran into a lady here in Kuala Lumpur who recently returned with her family from many years in Australia. She told me her husband made good money there for a security company. He is a big guy, and was hired to deter crime in many places and events.

While in Australia, her husband had more work than he could do. Here in Malaysia, “that’s not even a job” and when it is, it barely pays well at all, and “little guys” work in gangs.

My post today is for the monomad daily contest by @monochromes. I used a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera for this photo.

u95wyz0lt7.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @fitinfun! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8750 replies. Your next target is to reach 9000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

howdy again fitinfun! what in the world??? Are you kiddin me? How can there be no crime? Those people left their business wide open like that and nothing happened? Why are they so different over there?

I can't say, but this was one of my shockers in Thailand. It is like this everywhere I went. I talked to some people about us security and they were shocked to hear this. All I can say is that everyone has a family business. If you steal from here, it is like stealing from your own mom.

ok well I read the explanation below and that makes sense but even if that was the way it was in the United States there would be so many druggies stealing to get stuff to sell. I mean, they would steal from their own mother without thinking. So whatever is instilled in them about this is stronger than drug addiction? That's what it looks like.

They do not have much of a drug problem here compared to the states. It's here, but rare. Not too much drinking either, in comparison. The culture is so much different. In general, people are much more caring. They would intervene if they saw someone stealing where we might turn a blind eye. I will be sure to post more "security" I have seen here :)

This is not making me feel good about us over here! lol. I mean we're supposed to be a Christian nation. What faith are most of them there?

Thailand is mostly Buddhist. Malaysia is mostly Muslim, but has Hindu, Buddhist and 10% Christian.

The craziest thing is Christmas over here. They go all out and it is CHRISTMAS! Everyone celebrates in all places I have been and see no issue with it. There is no "Happy Holidays" bs and they never even heard of that crazy concept.

I always get asked my religion here, and people are happy I am Christian. Someone in Thailand told me that "God and Buddha are the same person". How's that for an interesting take?

haha! wow fitinfun that place is a gold mine of interesting scenery, concepts, food, behavior, traffic, faith, crime, so many things are totally fascinating, their psychology of things like theft and why there isn't any almost...and they are generally friendly and nice right? And the Buddhists celebrate Christmas too! lol. Do they know the Christmas story or it's just a holiday that they like?

The Christmas story is known, but they have their own take on it. It's loose on the details lol.

Everyone is SO friendly here. It was a big difference I noticed upon arrival and continues every place I travel.

In one of my Yangon hostels the clerk brought me lunch from his mom on the second day there. He told her there was "an old lady" staying alone at the hostel, and she wanted me to try her food and feel welcome.

"An old lady" is exactly how he referred to me in his not so good English. I need to watch myself to never be offended, since no one is ever trying to offend me lol. They are just continually shocked that someone as old as me could be here alone. Often they look past me to find my non-existent husband.

The lunch was delicious and I have no idea what it was :)

You just received a 21.39% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @fitinfun!
WaveSmall.gif

You got a 33.33% upvote from @whalepromobot courtesy of @fitinfun!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fitinfun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 20.00% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @fitinfun. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97