How close can you crop before losing image quality?

in #monomad6 years ago (edited)

When I took this photo, I planned to crop in tight like this and make a black and white.

I had my 50mm prime lens on the camera, and you can only focus so close with it... I knew I had to shoot wide and crop later. If I had planned to print this I don't think I could go very large, but for use online it might not matter so much. The image as you see it here is 2000 x 1125 pixels.

When I saw this spray of flowers, the little cluster in the centre seemed to stand out from the background. I'll show you the full original shot at the end.

This is my entry for the daily #monomad photo contest, sponsored by @brumest & @monochromes

Nikon D750, 50mm, f/2.8, 1/1600 second, ISO 1000 (Click for full-screen)

DSC_5691.jpg


Here is the same crop in colour

DSC_5691-2.jpg

Here is the original scene that caught my eye. My lens could not focus closer than this.

DSC_5691-3.jpg

Thanks a lot for taking a look. Make sure to check the latest post from @monochromes for the contest rules and description:

https://steemit.com/monomad/@monochromes/monomad-daily-picks-june-29th-winners-and-delegations-upvote-rates

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

sorry for the intervention to your explain, but why not to crop it immediately at the place of taking picture before the push on the shutter button ? looks like you had some time to concentrate and to think a little bit longer about the final result
sorry again for my opinion.

No problem - Only because I had a prime lens (no zoom) and the original larger photo shows about how close I could focus. In other words, I could not get any closer than this - my 50mm will focus at roughly 18 inches. These are very small flowers, by the way, I guess they would be called miniature daisies. Thank you for your question.

i understand. yes with 5cm lens is not too easy to closeup.. i prefer to find a bigger flowers so :-))))

Yes, true. Maybe next time they will be larger :)

They are beautiful in both original and monochrome! I think these are chamomile! I used to have them in my backyard.

Thank you very much and I'm sure you're right about the name. I never know the name of any flowers!

That's ok! I know only a few :-)

I think the crop worked wonderfully:)

Very pretty and i don't think you lost any quality with the zoom

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61209.23
ETH 2940.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73