Monomad - Vancouver Streets and the Last of the Big Time Spenders

in #monomad6 years ago (edited)

These photos are for the daily #monomad photo contest, sponsored by @brumest & @monochromes. Please click for a full-screen view, thanks for taking a look!


I got hustled...

Is that a Leica?
No, it's a Fuji
I used to shoot a Leica

yada, yada...

Want to take my picture?
Spare some change?

I should have seen that coming, but it was worth it. Here I am still talking about it four years later. I gave the man two bucks... I'm the last of the big time spenders!

Fuji X100S, 1/105s f/2.8 ISO200 23mm

DSCF5375.jpg


Killing time on the sidewalk, near the Commercial and Broadway SkyTrain station.

Fuji X100S, 1/80s f/5.6 ISO100 23mm

DSCF4098.jpg


See My recent posts:

The "Fairy Tree" Revisited - Hit Me With Your Best Shot!! Deranged Photography Contest!
Flintlocks, Cudgels, Daggers And Swords To Be Handed To The Innkeeper
WednesdayWalk - The Funky Fernwood "What Was In Those Brownies?" Edition
Check this post to see the rules for the MonoMad contest:
https://steemit.com/monomad/@monochromes/monomad-july-14th-winning-picks
Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @keithboone! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Love his pose! Great portrait.

Thanks so much, Melinda :)

It’s a great shot. The man has quite the expression in his eyes. 🙃

Yeah, he was clowning around for me. He was actually fun to talk to, I could tell that he was, or had been, a photographer.

Ha! That street guy knew he had talent and needed to spread it around. I was given a rose by a homeless guy once, with the words "Free of charge - just donations accepted". His words took all the romance out of the gesture. :)

People look for a gimmick to pull in money. I've seen one guy with a sign that says "Need money for weed".

💰 well spent and both of the photos are great! You should join the @photocircle photo contest. Check it out, it's great!

Thank you, Erika, I will check it out.

You're welcome 😉

That is an awesome expression the person in the first photo is displaying... much love

Thanks very much! :)

I think you spent just enough on the gentleman with the odd look! Bet he didn't spend it at the market down the street.

Hope you saved some for fruits and veggies.

You are probably right about that!

I believe that you got your money's worth with that shot, even though I always feel scammed when people charge me to take their picture. I am more likely to feel good about giving them a couple dollars or buying it and having my idea, but honestly, I'm not in their shoes.

I like the reflection caught in the window and just the gritty reminder of life when it gets off track.

Always so brilliant, your photography and I have a special place in my heart for are your Black and Whites.

Upped and Steemed

Thanks very much, Denise! I was taking pictures of a fountain once when a street guy started yelling at me...

"Five dollars! Give me five dollars!" He started walking towards me.
"What for?"
"You took my picture!"
"Why would I want your picture?"
"Oh, ok..." and he just walked away.

The thing is, I do take candid shots - not of the guy who was yelling at me, but I take street photos all the time. So I don't know when I should be paying someone. For example, I will always tip street musicians if I take their photo.

I never know when to tip, but, I like taking candids and I got yelled at by a Muslim man who thought I took a picture of his wife. For once, I wasn't guilty! I offered to scroll through and show him it was not her that I was taking, but, he declined and walked away.

Unlike the man in Jamaica, who threatened me if I didn't pay him. Yikes. Nobody told me it was dangerous to take pictures.

I am learning that same lesson, D! A new renter moved into the one old house/ rental property in the neighborhood and he accused me of spying on him! He put up a surveillance camera on the front of his garage because I am such a threat out taking pictures of trees and flowers from the seat of my mobility scooter. He has made me afraid to go out on my Wednesday walks!

Seriously. Nut job. ;)

He is just plain creepy.

That's terrible. You should get a huge lens and drive him nuts as payback!

That's terrible. You should get a huge lens and drive him nuts as payback!

I'm kind of scared of him. I've lived here 20 years and have seen lots of renters come and go. I hope he is one who goes soon!

Hehe, he loves the lens...wants to give you worth your 2 bucks ;-)

Thank you, I agree. He was a funny guy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87