Wings of DesiresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #monomad5 years ago

There are places you fall in love, long before you visit them, if ever, due to some book, song, movie or maybe just one picture and my story of Berlin is of that kind.
Hardly that you haven't heard about Berlin during elementary school, or even before, but the real interest for Berlin was brought into my life by movie of Wim Wenders, Wings Of Desire. The movie is set at the 80's of last century and two angels, main characters, take you for a walk to some of the biggest symbols of the city. They are almost completely invisible and their role is to listen to the thoughts of passers and preserve them through time. I can't say that at first, in my early teenage days, I understood any of monologues but the beauty of scenes and magical atmosphere aimed me to absorb the movie again and again. And the special credit given to Nick Cave blew everything to eternity.


Copyright by @tellurian.

I visited Berlin almost two decades later and it's not that I expect to find Berlin freezed in time of Cold War but still I had a big expecation. You must agree, that starting point is very fruitful for big disappointment, but it was not! And now I highly recommend to include this city to your travel plan list, wander around, get lost and for sure you will find your own wings of desire.

Beside sharing my little story and giving the honor to Wim Wenders and his work, I also want to participating to some of the ongoing calls across the Steem Blockchain with above photo. The photo was taken over the main entrance of the German Museum of Technology, an incredible place with impressive collection of exhibits.

This is my entry for the daily #monomad challenge run by @monochromes and here is the last announcement. Aslo it's the entry for the weekly #TravelPhotoContest hosted by @lightcaptured and this week theme is Black and White. Thirdly, there is a two-week #bwphotocontest by @daveks with the current theme Planes, Trains and Automobiles.

Thank you for your attention.

Find the time to vote for @crowdwitness, give them wings!

Sort:  

Wings of desire is one of my favourite movies but my all time favourite is Until the end of the world. Your photo is a perfect homage to the feeling of the movie.😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Until the end of the world is a sci-fi masterpiece from '90s and I think that movie will shine again.

You think so? I love it but most people did not like it because of the duration. For me the best part was in the end😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94