Are corporate monopolies an obstacle to liberty?

in #monopoly6 years ago

the_last_tree_or_flower__by_praetoriann-d4yhe422g.jpg

This past year, there has been a great deal of online-censorships on the mainstream social media platforms, Twitter Facebook and Youtube.

Many of the people banned from there have gone to places like minds.com
Steemit and gab.ai. Now you hear stories, about paypal denying companies services, Visa threatening to deny companies services. And gab has been taken down by their hosting companies.

To me these companies, are monopolies, and that gives them power. And them banning these people and denying people services without any good reason, is a clear abuse of their power. This is because too many people being able to use these companies has become as necessary as having the phone.

People that need to earn their money online, are completely dependent on these services because there is no alternative. Or maybe I should say, now that gab has been taken down, there is no alternative, that cannot be threatened by the already existing monopolies. If you want to build an alternative to the Facebook monopoly, you would still be dependent on the monopoly of Paypal, Visa, banks, hosting services etc to make it. And they are likely good friends of your competitors. And for ideological but more likely financial reasons choose their side and cut you off if they are pressured to do so.

What would be a good solution to this problem?
I alone, can not do anything, but I still want to think of potential solutions.
But since I'm no expert at everything, I don't want to think about these solutions alone.

Therefore I would like you who reads this to think with me. If possible, I want to build up a community of people who think with me, to come up with new ideas or solutions for certain problems. If you like that idea, subscribe to me and leave a comment, then I'll also subscribe to you, because I am very interested to see what you write or think about problems like these.

I look forward, to reading about all the ideas we can share with each other
to come up with some amazing conclusions.

If you like what I wrote here
and are interested in more.
you can also add me on minds.com
https://www.minds.com/praetoriancorps

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62