A Rathalos Encounter

in #monster7 years ago (edited)


000000000.jpg
greetings2.jpg

Good Day Steemians!

Today, I'll show you my drawing of a flying wyvern called Rathalos and how I drew him. He's actually one of the main monsters of the Monster Hunter franchise. He's pretty hard to kill.

Here is the reference material I used for this drawing as I've discussed on the Rathalos Preview Post. This Deviantart Artist sure does produce good quality digital artworks. I haven't practiced digital drawings yet because of my lack of equipment (I do not have a touch screen device wide enough that has a pen or a pen/tab set to draw like a Wacom), so for the meantime I have focused on the things I'm able to create.

monster_hunter__rathalos_vs_hunter_by_fonteart-d95yqs5.jpg
Image Source:

That Hunter above is definitely in trouble, he looks low level cause of his equipment, it looks like things bought from store. I'm sure though that he will improve in time.

I will be sketching the above reference using ink pens and a paper. Afterwards, I also plan on digitizing my piece and provide some touches on it. If I still have time to do it. I do have a full time job and it's taking most of my time. Not to mention I work nights and right now (as I'm typing these words) is actually my sleeping time.


The Drawing

Here's how it all started out. First, I've sketched the Rathalos using a pencil. Some fine light lines should not obstruct the drawing whatsoever. I've written my username here and labeled my drawing. It's best to sketch some lines to guide you on the drawing process too.

20171008_123211.jpg

The sketch above will be our basis for the pen drawing. I inked in the left eye and brows and part of the nose and some teeth for this process.

20171008_125344.jpg

I continued drawing the rest of his left face. Added a bit of shading using cross-hatches. The hardest part of this was drawing the ridges on his face.

20171008_131009.jpg

Next up, you can see the full face of Rathalos but still require an ample amount of work on the whole drawing itself.

20171009_064355.jpg

Added in some more features like his horns, ears, smile, etc. I started to outline his body's feature here as well and started to shade the darkest areas:

20171009_090623.jpg

I've completed his face here, as well as his right wing, the plates on his left leg and some more shadows all over the drawing:

20171013_122627.jpg

The Rathalos is almost finished. We just need to add in more shading to his backdrop as well as on his feet. A bit more detail on his wings might be needed as well:

20171014_221948.jpg


Here's the Finished Drawing:

1.jpg

You can look at the details on this drawing on this zoomed in photo:

I also would like to show you how it looks compare to the reference drawing by editing it into a GIF, transitioning from the reference into my drawing, just look here:

1gif.gif

I already tried a few edits using Photoshop to add in some colors into the drawing, it's not as good as the colors from the original/reference but it looks better than just the plain drawing in black and white, this one looks more alive:

rathalos edited.jpg

Thanks for viewing my art guys! I hope you enjoyed my post!

goodbye2.jpg
flamered foote2.jpg

Sort:  

Hey there, your art looks great, especially the edits that you do on your drawings. Keep it up!

Thank you so much!

Congratulations @flamered! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59