Hating What You Love

in #motivation6 years ago


I don’t always know what to say - and when I do, sometimes video isn’t the best medium. I’m branching out. https://acityaway.io

I took 2 weeks off of video making because I hit "The Trough of Sorrow" - a phrase coined in the startup world - from Y Combinator startup accelerator I believe?

It is the stage when the initial euphoria of starting something hit rock bottom to a baseline reality.

Making videos wasn't making me happy, and that's pretty odd.

What do you do when you hate what you love? With that logic, can you enjoy anything else?

I sat down with my friend Chris who gave me a good perspective on the trough of sorrow.

It's going to happen in almost anything you start. The, "why am I doing this?" and "I don't see emotional or analytical results".

I don't know what to say other than you have to give it time, and push through the trough, to really see if the results come in.

It's also the best time to pivot.

There's no "certain" time to pack your bags and move on - but hopefully that day will be filled with objective hints rather than subjective emotions.

Love y'all, happy I was able to make another video.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Congratulations @bradmitchell! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @bradmitchell! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62668.08
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58