"Oh SH#T!!!..." - Motivation Moment #36

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever been in a Car Accident?

HWotB-1513810235-97418-blog-5448665_G.jpeg
Source

We were just at a dinner today to celebrate my Dad's Birthday cum Victory Celebration post his fight against Lymphoma (Cancer of the Lymph nodes). It was beautiful as we had our relatives, Pastors and very close friends.

Just almost three quarter into the sit down Chinese dinner, one of my close family friend who was there had a phone call from his frantic teenage daughter. She just been in an accident (thank God not a serious one) and yet it was traumatic as it was her first accident.

That just brought me thinking about the accidents that I have been involved in my (almost) 30 years of driving. Come to think of it... that's a long while now, how time flies. 😉😉

I still remember My First Car Accident.

It was entirely my fault because I hit the car from in front of me, as he jammed his brakes because of a darn cat or dog.

I was furious because it was my new car (back then) and being "a little green" I thought I could blame him for causing an emergency brake situation.

Hmmm, I learned GOOD. I had to use my meagre pay to cover the cost of his and my damage. A painful lesson indeed.

Fast-track many years later... My Scariest Accident!!

It was a dark and rainy evening, I was already a little tired from work but I promised to meet up with friend for a late night coffee. So I got in my car and drove to the place. To make things worst, I was running late...and so I drove just a wee-bit faster than normal. Ok to tell you the truth, I was speeding.

I knew the roads very well as this was my "hood" you know what I'm saying. What I didn't realize that the roads were filled with so much water that some parts of the road was a little flooded. I was just 2 mins from where my friend was when it happened.

I took the corner and all of a sudden I lost control of the car. My car steering locked up, I jammed the brakes but the momentum of the car took me straight to a tree beside the road.

All I could think at that moment was "This is IT"...

volvo-s60-sweden-2001.jpeg
Source

And so I shouted "Jesus, Jesus, Jesus" as my car jumped the curb and smashed into the tree on my side of the door. BAAAAAMMMMM!!!!

I stayed there for a good 1 minute with 100 thoughts coming to my mind. Am I hurt? Am I ok to get out? Is my car really badly damaged?

It was still heavily raining at this time when I exited the car from the other passenger door to see the damage. It was pretty bad. My under-carriage was affected, my door was badly dented due to the impact of the tree.

And whilst I evaluated the whole situation, passer-by's came by and assisted me and I managed to drive the car very slowly to the police station which was thankfully nearby.

What an Experience!!

The next day at the car workshop, the person in charge told me that if I was driving any other car than my Volvo S90, I would have been injured!!! Apparently, the Volvo has the toughest side door in the market. WOW. What a revelation.

Have you had your share of "Oh SH#T!!!" moments? Perhaps other mishaps or accidents that you can still vividly remember till today?

All I can say is every moment like this, TEACHES Us New Lessons and Gives New Insights -- about ourselves and how we handle every challenge life throws at us along this journey.

So the next time you get into a tangle, don't be too worked-up and disappointed with yourself, treat it as a Good Learning Opportunity.

Like what John Maxwell says, "Sometimes you Win, Sometimes you Learn".

Stay tuned for more "Motivation Moments"...

Mel @coachmelleow


Everyone needs a little push, a little encouragement, a little inspiration ~ every single day.

That's why I created Motivation Moments to help you move forward.

MotivationMomentWithMel.jpg

If you benefited from this post, please give it an Upvote or Resteem it...Thank you! 😊

Sharing is caring.


Here are more Motivation Moments...

Sort:  

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97