Your Leadership Ability II, Contributed By @Olawalium

in #motivation5 years ago

…continued… from part 1

pexels-photo-423364.jpeg
[Source]

What are you doing with the role you are holding? Are you using it to exploit others? Are you using it to oppress others? Are you using it to acquire things only to yourself while leaving others hanging? Is anyone better as a result of the position you are holding without having to pull others down?

As a person, you really don’t know what you are capable of doing until you are asked to do it. This is why you really need to take opportunities and never say no. Others see more in us than we see in ourselves sometimes either by approach or observations. We need to always be ready to take on things we have never done before but asked to do.


pexels-photo-1138903.jpeg
[Source]

I can remember during service year, I never knew I could address a lot of people, not to even talk of speaking on behalf of a group of people. Our state coordinator was to visit and upon her arrival, I was told to address her on behalf of the other corp members. I have tried to dodge it and even went to the back of the group not knowing the state coordinator was watching all along. I stepped forward, I spoke to her on behalf of the other fellow corp members and everyone seemed to enjoy my choice of words and how I went about it. I was surprised because I have never done anything of such before. As I left amidst claps, the state coordinator said something I would never forget and I quote, ”A golden fish can never hide”.

I never knew I could speak convincingly without muttering words together with a group of people staring at my face but when I was called upon, though I tried to hide, I never said no. If I had told them I can’t do it, they would definitely find another corp member to do it, but I am glad I stepped forward and my confidence level shot up ever since then. Nothing fazes me anymore and there is no one I can’t address right now or speak with because it is all about approach, and confidence.

…to be continued…


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn’t bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

My tongue is like the pen of a ready writer.

Olawalium; (Love’s chemical content, in human form). Take a dose today: doctor’s order.


If you enjoyed this post, follow @Olawalium

Sort:  

Leaders become great not because of their power but because of their ability to empower others. A leader must use the position, relationship, and productivity to invest in their followers until their followers can become a leader themselves.

I salute your courage and the fact that you voiced out what had happened then, some would have lied and covered it up. The thing is we must always prepare because we never know when we might be called upon.

Thank you, brother. Yes, as a leader, you need to always be on the guard and be ready just like the boyscout motto! A lot rests on leaders and that is what set them apart.

Courage is not the absence of fear but the presence of fear yet the will must go on. Leaders need to take informed decisions and act with courage with proper insight in place.

Thanks a lot, brother.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64