Fuck Motivation! There’s stuff to do!

Motivation and wanting to change results in life

The below is a transcript of a video posted on FaceBook by Luis Fernando Mises, you can watch it HERE.

Luis Fernando Mises: What up? Trying this new fancy thing on ... There seems like there was quite a bit of push back which I actually loved on that post about being motivated and I want to talk a little bit more about it. I think it’s a fantastic subject to explore especially for those who are into the inner journey and wanting to change results in life, how we view things.

A lot of times the whole idea of needing to be motivated to do something, like “Oh, I don’t feel like it. I don’t want to do this. Life’s just hard. I have to wash the dishes.” With all respect, I think that’s just bullshit. The reasoning behind it is life will never be perfect. The sky is not always going to be blue. You’re not always going to feel great. Shit needs to be done whether you feel like it or not especially when you’re purpose driven.

Even in my work, I absolutely love the work I do, it’s amazing. I think it’s lovely, but not everything is glamourous or peachy about it. There are some things that are just boring as fuck, like having to do some paperwork, desk work, nobody likes that shit. Waiting to do that kind of stuff until I feel motivated would be tragic and I would never get anything done because in reality, who wants to do that shit, right?

But there’s price you have to pay to do other things, like travelling all of the time, meeting people, helping them out to create better results in their life. Waiting to be motivated to do something is not a valid excuse for not doing things that need to get done. That’s the real reasoning behind it. That also includes creativity and inspiration, they’re along the same lines, “Oh, I don’t feel very inspired. I don’t feel creative.” No, you have to set aside time and force yourself to do stuff.

If things need done, you have to do them. Who in the hell enjoys cleaning the toilet? One of my friends in the comment section was saying, “Well, I have to change my wife’s pan.” You don’t need to feel motivated to do that. Shit needs to be done and you do it. Those are like little victories that have to be won one step at a time. Like parenting, it’s tough. There’s a lot of things that are hard about it just because you don’t feel like it, like “Fuck it.” You have kids, you have responsibilities; you have work, you have responsibilities. You have a lot of things that need to get done, so in that regard, motivation is a cop-out mechanism, like “Oh, fuck it.” No, this is actually the number one thing that separates those who are successful from those who are not. People who are not successful will always look for ways to, “Oh, whatever, I’ll do it tomorrow. I don’t feel motivated.” I understand work-life balance.

If I don’t’ feel like working, I’m not going to work but I know that shit needs to get done.
Meanwhile, I’ll go to the backyard and do some squats, come back and my brain is working better, defogged a little bit from sitting done too long and do some more shit.

Do whatever you need to do but don’t give up. Don’t just leave it to chance, motivation or inspiration. You have to create your own energy and inspiration. I listen to music when I’m doing computer work or desk work and a lot of times I listen to Psy trance or house music, shit that’s high vibration. Shit that’s pumped up all the time. My friend Eric Linsky listens to really heavy metal when he’s lifting, that inspires him. That in itself is hacking your brain into doing things instead of waiting until you feel like it or like, “Oh, because I’m expected to do this.” Expectations make me feel overwhelmed. Fuck it. Life is hard, you just have to deal with it. “Oh, we have to work. I wish we didn’t have to work, we just live on the land.” I definitely don’t want to have to grow everything and build everything myself, you know? That in itself will lead to abject poverty if you have to create everything that you own.

Thriving requires hard work

You’re not going to be doing your life’s purpose because you’re going to be just surviving. I don’t think life’s about surviving; life’s about thriving. Thriving requires hard work. On this one, I will always side with Elon Musk. He says,

"Most people do their 40 hours and then they just go home, drink beer, do whatever they need to do for the house, watch television."
I cannot even imagine doing that. I don’t even watch television, anyway. Imagine how much you get done working 40 hours a week, if you work 80 hours a week you’re going to get done twice as much as those people. You can succeed way faster than the average person who does 40 hours a week. For a long time, I was putting in 90 hours a week just to get to work. You know when people say, “All I need is a nice car, a nice house, a good, nice family and then they’ll be set.” Well, fuck I had all of those things five to ten years ago. Is that all you want out of life? Really? If that’s all you want, that’s fine, I suppose. I’m not messing with you or judging but are you really just living or are you just on auto pilot? Is your soul on fire? Or are you just going by? So, fuck motivation in that sense. Fuck it. Ask yourself, what do you want out of life and then just go get it. That’s it. It’s never about the surface level shit. It’s always like deep down below.

Inspiration, motivation – all of that has to be intrinsically motivated

Inspiration, motivation – all of that has to be intrinsically motivated. You have to make it, you have to create it. It’s an inside job. It’s not something that just comes from the heavens. Like all of us who are moving and shaking shit, A lot of times, I don’t want to wake up. I’m like, “Shit, I’m tired. I don’t want to do this. Five a.m., fuck stuff!” But then like, work ethic, you have to do things and shit needs to be done. So, that was a little bit of a deeper explanation on that post because it seems like a lot of people were not very happy with it. I understand, and I understand why. When you poke at people’s beliefs, you react. It’s understandable, it’s normal. That’s actually part of what we’re here to do, is to influence. I hope that was helpful and it was good to see you all. The handful of people who were here, watched this drive home with me to Dallas. I did some work, got paid, and I’m going to finish my day in the house doing some video editing and preparing for my trip next week to Houston to teach voluntaryism to a financial institution and investments. Get this, their mission is to end genocide in the world, a financial institution that does investments that circle life. They throw 50 % of their profits towards that goal. That’s a mission with a business, not a business with a mission. As we move towards that trajectory, you’re going to see more businesses doing that. That’s what we’re going to do. That will be another video. I’m not going to bore you with that right now. Thank you, Jason Bassler, for this lovely hand-held stabilizer. I love it.

Also on our website: https://emancipatedhuman.com/f-motivation/

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59