I’m Back! Seven days Spent In The Wilderness Of Malaria And Typhoid

in #motivation6 years ago

image

Roughly a week ago, I came down with a severe bout of malaria and typhoid. I didn’t know what it was then; I assumed it was the regular fatigue I use to experience. Then the headache and the cold started. The headache was the worse. For days I tried pain relievers, seeking refuge from the incessant pounding in my head. By Wednesday, I couldn’t take it anymore. I picked up my bags and walked to the park. That was I took the nearly three hours trip from Ife to Lagos. In Lagos, I was hospitalized at once.

One week later, I’m hale, healthy and excited. That’s about a summary of what you’re about to read. Remember I’m writing about past events, so I might not be too sure of some of the details.

Monday

I woke up feeling tired. I remember asking myself what I would eat that morning. I was tired and broke. If I remember correctly, my kind neighbour provided breakfast. I thought after the meal, I would feel better; I didn’t. instead, I had this lethargy come upon me, like a cold blanket trying to smother out my spark.

Later that afternoon, I called my mother and told her I was unwell. She told me to get some drugs. I replied I had no money. She then offered to send some money. That evening, I began to feel better. I didn’t think I was ill so it wasn’t unexpected. The only issue was the cold. Nightfall brought a chill with it. Thankfully I had my sweater.

Tuesday

I woke up feeling worse. The headache wouldn’t leave and the cold was getting stronger. I couldn’t take it anymore. I encouraged my self to take the long walk to the pharmacy. There were other drug stores around but nah, it’s either that pharmacy or an hospital (I don’t do self-medication).

I arrived at the pharmacy with a friend and made my complaints. The pharmacist listened to me and produced some medication. It was time to pay and I didn’t have enough money. Argh! My friend and I had to walk back to my apartment to get more money and then return to the pharmacy. By the time I finally got home, I was exhausted.

Just as I began the medication, I remembered I didn’t mention I had fever. Thing is, I didn’t feel it. Other people mentioned it each time they touched me. Well, there was no way I wad going to walk back to the pharmacy. I was done for the day.

Wednesday

I woke up from a rather rough night. The malaria didn’t allow me sleep. I was tired, my breathing was ragged, I had cold in my bones and my body was on fire. Enough is enough, I told myself. I announced to my friends that I was leaving for Lagos and that was it!

Thankfully, I was paid the previous day for an event I organised. Otherwise, I would have been stranded as I was broke then (and still is). I packed my bags and dragged myself to the pack. I remember sleeping for most parts of the trip.

I arrived Lagos and reported at the hospital at once. My mother promised to check on me later that evening. The doctor listened to my complaints and I was admitted. That was the beginning of drips, injections and drugs.

Thursday

My behind was already reeling from the numerous syringes that were being inserted. I don’t remember much because the mediation was making me drowsy. Most times, I woke up to eat, take drugs injections and then go back to sleep.

Friday

I was much better! I could walk around. I even saw movies on my laptop. I only had to take more drips, drugs and injections.

Saturday

I was also going to be discharged as I had completed my treatment. I only needed to wait for my mother to settle the bills

That evening, I walked with my mother to the bus-stop. As we waited for a bus, I noticed how roughly the traffic was. It was insane, a stark contrast from the quiet Ife I left earlier that week. I decided to return to the hospital. I would leave the following day when the road would be clear.

Sunday

I’m home and reunited with my family. My sister is super pleased to see me!

Well, now that I’m better, it’s time to resume steeming. I broke and I need some steem urgently.

Thanks for reading this rambling of mine.

Blessings

Sort:  

Welcome back...

You got 21.90% upvote from Yensesa. Thank you for your continues support of Yensesa Exchange and being a member of Yensesa Residual Income

Thanks for using the girlsfoundation tag as one of your tags. Don't forget to follow @girlsfoundation.
you can also support the girlsfoundation by following our curation trail using steemauto

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98