QUESNEY21 (Day 1): Strangers On A Train

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

train tracks.jpg

I have been commuting on the MRT to work on most days these recent two months and I have grown to appreciate the quiet and peace of the early mornings when I have time to myself not to mention the apparent lack of stress battling rush hour traffic driving to work!

mrt station.jpg
The outdoor area of our awesome Malaysian MRT stations!

Just a couple of days ago I boarded the train and chose a two-seater section for a little more privacy and put my laptop bag on the seat next to me as the train was relatively empty at my boarding station. As the train continued on to town it started to get more and more crowded. At one particular station, I noticed a young man from the corner of my eye approaching my seat and I quickly moved my bag to make space for him. To my surprise, he smiled to acknowledge me and quite vocally thanked me. Loudly...even...I smiled cordially and then picked up an incoming call from my office. Right after I completed my call, that young man who was seated next to me very suddenly handed me his business card and introduced himself as a photographer albeit a little awkwardly too. He explained that he provides services like emcees for events, sound systems and other entertainment supplies.

Let me describe him. He was young...really young...maybe 20 or 21 years old max! He was nervous that much I could see...he was not articulate, in fact throughout our conversion he struggled to explain his trade. Ok maybe I wasn't exactly the most receptive audience...(hey it's my quiet time of the day!) But he was smiling happily and pleasantly stumbling through our conversion without a care in the world...(most importantly without caring what I thought about him) He even pulled out his phone to show me pictures of how he started as a lighting assistant and progressed to become a photographer. He then showed me some of his portfolio of pictures as well. Finally he kind of ended the conversation by saying that if I were to overhear any of my clients say that they were looking for photographers, or they are redoing their corporate portfolio etc. I could if I wanted to, refer him to them.

The first thought that flew through my mind was "I don't know you, I don't know your work, why should I recommend you?" It was ironic how the entire train ride was just long enough for him to get through his entire self-promotion and it ended slightly after he asked me to recommend him to my clients.

I politely told him that it was my stop to get off and wished him all the best. I couldn't stop thinking about my encounter on the train with this young man and realised a few things:-

1) This young person really didn't care about what I would think of him when he decided to approach me

I used to think a lot about how a person would perceive me or even think about me. Thankfully as I grow older and wiser I care much less now but I do still need a reminder every once in a while.This made me a "want to please" person all the time and I had the fear of getting out there and doing great stuff differently. The old adage is quite true that with age comes a little more wisdom. I also realised that God slowly changed me to know that what God thinks about me is infinitely more important than what others think about me.

Generally, I feel that too many people worry too much, I know I was one of them. I like what Eleanor Roosevelt said "You wouldn't worry so much about what others think of you if you realised how seldom they do" Hahahaha! So true!

2) He saw an opportunity and decided to take it (He went ahead to talk to me and ask for business)

Always be alert and on the lookout for good opportunities. Sometimes they are right in front of us and we can't even recognise them for the great opportunities they are. I personally know that for many years earlier in my younger days, I felt just too tired and that I really didn't have enough hours in the day! I was too busy working, too busy with everything!

Since becoming a Mum, I have to go back to what is important to me, the goals that I want to achieve and the kind of future that I want for myself and my family. I have realised that Steemit is one awesome opportunity that I am going to get serious about and run with it!

3) He was enthusiastic and optimistic during our entire conversation giving me his 100%

He really gave it his all. He was polite and kept smiling throughout our conversation. I am sure that he felt uncomfortable and uncertain. Maybe even a tad bit intimidated...but he didn't let that stop him one bit. He continued to talk and share with me the work that he has done. I am so sure that if he does continue with this awesome attitude and practice, practice, practice plying his craft...he is going to get really good at it really soon.

When I started on Steemit in January this year, I started on my own without a community or friends. I started because I have a passion for crypto and blockchain. This is my 3rd month and I am now part of a wonderful community called Team Malaysia, made many great connections and a whole new world has really opened up for me. My take away is that I am going to continue to practice, practice practice and continuously learn here on Steemit! I am going to work at contributing towards the people around me.

4) He asked for referrals and an opportunity to work together - citing that if by any chance I know anyone who needs photography services to refer to him.

The gall of this young man... But in hindsight he was audacious!
My learning here is to be brave and ask for help. Take risks and collaborate with others. Many a time I think I miss great opportunities because of my insecurities, maybe a little much ego, too many assumptions... From now on, I am just going to ask for the help I need. I am going to ask for the opportunities I see I want to be involved in and then go all out and prove to them that they were right in trusting me to deliver.

So what is QUESNEY21? @joannewong and I are challenging each other to create great content for the next 21 days. Starting 26th of March and ending on the 15th of April. We needed the discipline and motivation that comes from being accountable to each other. Tell us if this is interesting to you, do you think you could benefit from your own QUESNEY 21?

I am so grateful to @elizacheng for suggesting this albeit it was some time ago, encouragement and support from @zord189 and @aaronleang and finally Team Malaysia's very own writing guru @maverickfoo for agreeing to mentor us personally on his new online project of idea generation.

So here's to Day 1 of QUESNEY21, my personal learning and reflection to STEEM on!

me on the train.jpg

signature_1 (1).gif

Sort:  

Interesting name for the 21-day program, though you gotta tell me how it came about...

Good story, and I like you broke down the lessons you get from the encounter. I usually consider posts with a combination of narrative, lessons and opinions are of good quality.

Keep it up, and hopefully you will continue way after 21 days.

OMG praise from Mav! Thanks! I am positively on cloud 9 now! Hahaha! We both thought it was fun to have something different

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Thank you Team Malaysia!

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @anomadsoul, @GuyFawkes4-20, @martibis and @fingersik. We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

This is a courtesy of @GuyFawkes4-20

Thank you for your support!

It looks like the stranger was creating his own opportunity to grow his business. I have to hand it to him, that takes a bit of guts to just sit down beside someone and beginning promoting to them. Neat idea for a challenge too!

Hi @keciah yes isn't it? A lot of guts...and maybe passion for his trade...or his personal goals who knows? We just had to do something to get our act together. I love Steemit but hey life does get in the way, so this is a no excuse, get down and do it and grow my passion for Steemit! I am overwhelmed by the love and support I have received on Day 1. It is also a tad bit more pressure....aaahh...

@khimgoh, despite your initial reservation, it's clear by your post that you did warm up to him, and in a way, he touched your heart. You walked away with a life lesson. Now, my new friend, go boldly onward! 😁

Hey @karencarrens thanks for dropping by! Appreciate the encouragement and support. Yes I did in a way...maybe I should put up a picture of his business card! :) He was utterly sincere I tell you.

Well, I personally won't be comfortable with someone that aggressive. I don't do hard sale but I choose soft sale instead. But we just need to give him credit for his courage. But because of the amount of scams we have heard, we are naturally more cautious with strangers.

Ah yes, scams...so prevalent these days. When I think about it, he managed to come across less aggresive more awkward endearing! hahahaha...

These are valuable lesson that you derived from your encounter on the train. You could have brushed it off, or blanked him out, instead you managed to distil the interaction down to a meaningful experience. That's a lesson in and of itself.

Good luck with your challenge. I've done several 30 day writing challenges, and am currently doing a 100 day poetry challenge, so I can attest to the value of these things. Just remember to enjoy the process and the journey (that's my lesson to add to the post).

Hey @naquoya thanks for dropping by my post and for the encouragement! 100 days? OMG I am getting a cold sweat just reading it! Definitely going to check out your blog! 100 days writing is bad enough, 100 days poetry writing? Wow wow wow! Thanks for the reminder, I know I must enjoy it and it must be fun to be sustainable!

Great initiative! I should probably join you gals too and it will whip me back to the writing track. Writing bootcamp anyone? ;D @joannewong?

Hey @karinzdailygrind come on do it! Get you mojo back!! We would be happy to keep you accountable!!

Onz! Let's do a boiler room @joannewong and @khimgoh 💪🏻

Let do it, the boiler room @karinzgrind :)

Amazing photography

Hahaha, if it's the train tracks you are talking about. Sorry to disappoint because I got that from pixabay which is free and does not require attribution! Thanks for dropping by my post!

Such a brave young man you encountered. He must have collected all his courage and was grateful that he met someone who listened and didn't shove him away. He beat fear in its face. It's true we are used to not listen to them because of experiences with scams. But I respect he did it politely and courteously.

Quesney21 is an awesome initiative! I have been pushing myself to write everyday too. So far, I have missed 2 days, amidst of maybe nearly a month, not too sure. Maybe others think it is easier for me to do it because I stay at home, but haha my son tells me: Mummy, put down phone. So I write after he sleeps too, the longest was till 3am!! If I'm lucky to finish a post before he sleeps like today, I will be celebrating by trying to sleep early haha, but it never happened. It does make me write easier after 21 days because they say it takes 21 days for a habit to form or unform. After all, it is therapeutic so my soul gets better. It also makes me look at my daily life again and again as a reflection when I write. All the best! You can do it, @khimgoh and @joannewong!

MomentCam_20180328001456.gif

I love the way you write. It's light and easy but very elaborate. Admire your vocabulary too, looking forward to read more from you @khimgoh! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68436.55
ETH 3750.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66