MY SECRET TO NEVER GIVING UP

in #motivation5 years ago (edited)

All of us feel like we want to give up sometime in our life. Some of us get that feeling more than others. The question is, who pushes through, and why?

I am Megan35 , 17 year old Motocross Rider and this is my story. 

If I gave up every time I fell- I would've given up on my first day. If I don't crash, don't break bones or bike parts, how would I learn. When I fall in a corner, I analyze what I did wrong and try again. That's when I achieve greatness. 

I started riding motorbikes 4 years ago, in that time I have been to Millsaps Training Facility in Georgia, USA, broken 2 bones and had 2 knee operations. Let me tell you. It has made me stronger than ever, mentally and physically.

PART 1

Millsaps Training Facility

World class motocross training facility. Known for creating champions. 

In January 2018 I had the opportunity to train here for 2 months. At the time it was frustrating. Felt like everyone around me achieved their goals and I was stuck in one place. By the time February came, I was ready to tell my dad to book us a ticket back to South Africa. 

I was done. Done fighting. Done disappointing my dad, my trainers and most of all, myself. I was at the point where my desire for giving up was bigger than the desire to win. 

PART 2

Sitting in Taco Bell, I realized that we all go through this. All of us get tested by The Man above. He will throw me the ball until I can catch it. That is what I did for the last month that I was there. I worked on catching that ball, even if all I did was miss. I kept going, knowing I will catch it one day. 

PART 3 

Flying back to South Africa in March had me nervous. Will I be faster than I used to be? Will I be able to actually get podium at the nationals? Thoughts kept running in. Making me want to stay on the plane. 

Eventually we arrived after 24 hours. Seeing my family was supposed to be good, some would say great, but it was everything except. All I heard was: "Now you'll show them" and "We'll see who wins the nationals this year" I know they meant well. Unfortunately it only chased my mind even more, the thought ran even faster.

PART 4 

My first race back. Nervous as I could be, people around me making it worse. Seeing the girl who always beat me was the worst. One thing I was confident about was my starts. 

We're on the start-line. 

Gates drop. 

Everything is a blur. 

First corner. 

HOLESHOT. 

In the lead. 

I had the speed to win. My dream was staring me straight in the eyes. I was so grateful for not giving up. 

Today I love racing more than ever.

Here is my secret

I now know, that the feeling of giving up is a sign that something great is coming. Greatness is only achieved by failing numerous times. 

EMBRACE FAILING!



Thank you for reading!

Please upvote and resteem.



Sort:  

Congratulations @megan35! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63088.03
ETH 2952.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55