The Power of Positive Thinking

in #motivation5 years ago

"There is a deep tendency in human nature to become precisely what you visualize yourself as being"
-Norman P.

thinkpositive.jpg

Let that sink in.

Last year, after getting picked up from my car crash that I definitely couldn't afford at the time, I remember crying on my (ex's) lap.

"I don't have a car, can't afford insurance, my family doesn't care if I'm dead or alive, you know at this rate I'll be single and jobless too" I muttered, tears running down my cheeks.

And you know what happened? I ended up owing 10k for the crash and taking buses for months just to feed myself, my ex broke up with me not shedding a single tear, hours got cut at work to where I could barely feed myself/pay rent. I decided to move back home to collect myself, returning from LA with legitimately just the shirt on my back and some memories.

That was last September. I moved back home and mustered the energy to visualize myself as successful like I'd done before I'd met him, before the storm hit. And today, my family and I are closer than we've ever been. I finally launched my "fund" where I trade commodities with real money, I'm going back to college, and while I'm far from where I'd like to be... I'm happy with the path I'm paving.

The gist is don't get caught up in self fulfilling prophecies. I mean maybe you can beat depression with shear willpower, but I know you can at least fight it with visualization. You need to remind yourself that you are only experiencing it, just as you will experience recovery, just as you will experience true happiness on your wedding day, or when you get that big promotion, even when you do something as small as finish a nice outdoor run.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60