Camping / hiking trip to the 2nd largest stratovolcano in the Cascade mountains. New Year's resolution done!

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

For me, this year had its ups and downs.. but nothing that can't be fixed later. My main goal this year was to exercise more and to lose weight (very special right?). Well I definitely did exercise more and lost a lot of weight (some of which I gained back unfortunately) but more importantly I gained a wealth of knowledge, experienced new and exciting things, and met a lot of new people who have become my lifelong friends.

20170820_080946.jpg

(Sunrise over the South slope of Mount Adams)

20170611_085956.jpg

(Practice hike up to Scotchman's peak 3700ft elevation gain)

20170716_105022.jpg

(Practice hike up to Hub lake 1500ft elevation gain)

20161225_125713.jpg

IMG_8474.jpg

20170805_083434.jpg

20170409_103651.jpg

(Making new friends)

The main reason for me to lose weight was my planned hiking/climbing trip to Mt. Adams volcano and to improve my cycling times and overall fitness.

Mount Adams is located in the South Cascades in Washington state. The South climb is 12 miles roundtrip which doesn't seem like much but the elevation gain is 6700ft (over the 6 miles going up) with the highest point being at 12276 ft above sea level. It is considered an active by dormant volcano with the last eruption dating back ~10000 years ago. It was a 3-day trip for us where the actual climb up and down took 2 days.

IMG_0069.jpg

20170820_140301.jpg

(Camping at the "Lunch counter" prior to the last part of the climb. Waking up to this view)

20170820_183914.jpg

(Hiking up the mountain)

20170820_093926.jpg

20170820_110758.jpg

(Views from the top of Mount Adams)

In order to make this trip doable and fun I had to get in a better shape. Basically, the way I did it- was by hiking, jogging, and biking more than before; since I have failed being on diets before (boy I love food) I thought I'll just burned more calories without restricting my caloric intake. And it worked. In the beginning of the year I was at 210lbs and I weighed in at 187lbs the day of my climb on August 21st. I started commuting to work on my bike at least 2-5 times a week (it is a 15 mile trip one way) burning around a 1000 calories each way.

20170528_182651.jpg

20170616_201151.jpg

20170305_155015.jpg

(Biking to and from work)

The hardest part in any routine exercise is staying motivated. And I learned a few tricks that helped me out immensely. The biggest motivator and helper was a Strava application on my phone. I am not associated with them in any way and I don't get any financial sponsorship from them (I wouldn't mind though! Any Strava representatives out there?). This app is amazing, and I know there are similar apps out there but what this one does it tracks your GPS signal through your phone or separate unit (my personal favorite is a Garmin watch) and it shows you a ton of information including your calories burned, progress on your rides and runs, stats on elevation gain, speed, wattage etc., etc. I will talk more about Strava in my future posts.

(Link to my Strava profile here: https://strava.app.link/a1UCotqb9I)

I digress. Another big motivator for me was having a group of people committed to the trip so we all prepared together, shared training tips and created a healthy competitive and supportive environment. Having a friend or two that have a similar goal helps out immensely. For example, when I'm hating myself for promising an early morning workout to a buddy of mine I still get up and go workout. If it wasn't for him I would snooze my alarm clock and go back to bed.

20170927_060848.jpg

(Hiking up the hill at buttcrack of dawn)

So with the help of my friends and Strava, I was getting an average of 1 hour per day of intense cardio (hiking, jogging, biking) which resulted in me feeling a lot better overall. Not only was I able to climb the peak, I lost weight, reduced my LDL (bad cholesterol) by 50 points, increased HDL (good cholesterol) by 20 points, increased strength and endurance, became happier with myself and made a lot of new friends.

More pics from the trip:

20170819_130038.jpg

20170819_203526.jpg

20170819_183024.jpg

20170820_072358.jpg

20170820_083643.jpg

20170820_090708.jpg

20170820_080949.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @nerdy.alex, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 5520 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1211.77. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

great post! very inspiring!

Nice work thanks for sharing keep up the good work.

Congratulations @nerdy.alex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Inspiring story and wonderful photos. I always make grandios plans for adventures, but forget that the discipline and training that it takes to get there are 90% of the journey!

Looks very satisfying. You should be proud! You're inspiring me to try harder on some of my goals!

Thank you! Glad to hear that! To be honest, preparing for the trip was even more fun! Doing the practice hikes, exploring new places made it super exciting!

Wow, that is one impressive climb.
Congratulations in completing your NY resolution.
Photos are extraordinary, and I can bet that the weight loss was totally worth it.

Thank you! Absolutely, but keeping the weight off is a constant struggle:)

What a great travelogue and an amazing series of photos! The terrain looks so intense and treacherous in places, so bravo for tackling it! Wonderful views from the top! 😊

Just out of curiosity, though — what is that ghostly, other mountain that appears in the background of the last two photos? Is that Mount Rainier? ...or maybe Mount Hood?

Thank you!! You're right, it is Mount Hood, but you can also see Mt Rainier, and Mt Saint Helens from the top.

I thought as much! I actually looked at images of all three on the Internet, but ruled-out Mt. Saint-Helens rarther quickly because of the profile! Thanks for confirming! 😊

hard work definitely pays off, you give show us a before and after picture =)
that will be so awesome

Yes, thank you! I'll post the before and after pictures in my future posts

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nerdy.alex to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Beautiful photos! It looks like a challanging, but rewarding hike!

Thank you! It definitely was!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75