Monday Motivation - Never stop learning

in #motivation6 years ago

Source

I recently attended a small reunion of friends from high school. It was an interesting experience and at least some of them I had not seen in 30 years. The most fascinating thing for me was how everyone seemed to be the same people they were 30 years ago. In saying this I'm ignoring some grey hair and a wrinkle here and there.

Digging deeper I did discover some differences. In my opinion, most of the ways in which my friends from long ago had changed had to with three things.

  1. Experiences they had in the intervening years.
  2. Confidence in abilities as yet undiscovered when I knew them.
  3. The knowledge they had gained over the years.

As you can surmise from the title of my Monday Motivation today, I want to focus on the knowledge aspect of the things that had shaped my friends into different people from who they were 30 years ago. It is the aspect of our growth and development about which we can be most intentional.

Imagine a person suffering from pain, not knowing why he is in pain. Imagine the same person with the same pain but with an understanding of what causes it and what can be done about it.

They look like two different people to me.

Imagine someone who needs to cross a desert. He does not know how far it is across and what route he should take. Or imagine the same person in need of crossing the same desert. He has a map and he knows where to find water and which route to take.

Is it really the same person? They seem very different.

Knowledge changes you! You can reverse a choice but you cannot get rid of knowledge once you know something. You can be lazy and negligent in applying knowledge but you can never again claim ignorance

The Bible quotes God saying this

My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge: ...
Hos 4:6a KJV

The more information I have, the better decision I can make. The better I understand a situation, the better I can navigate it. The more I know, the more I can do.

The more knowledge you have, the better you can be!

Do you agree?

Someone once said:

The biggest room in the world is room for improvement.

At the end of this week, you can be a better version of yourself. How? This week you can learn something new. You can learn to understand something of your challenges that you do not understand right now. You can learn to do something that you cannot do right now.

I want to encourage you to never stop learning! Not just in principle but in practice. Learn something new this week!

@reonlouw




Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Thank you, very correct words!

Thats a golden word @reonlouw the only thing that never finishes is knowledge . and my boss use to say the day you never learned anything is a waste...so keep trying to learn new thing everyday..

Posted using Partiko Android

First I should learn is how to beat my laziness.
Thank you for your motivational words..

@hairyfairy! There is life after HF20. I'm so glad to get this message! Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54