Never Procrastinate Again : 2 Easy Steps

in #motivation6 years ago

”I’m not ready yet…”

”I don’t really need to do it right now…”

”It’s not really that important”

”I don’t have enough information to start”

images (1).jpeg

We are all guilty of this…

How often do you catch yourself making excuses? You get so skilled in making up ways to explain your inaction.
And if you are as good as I am, you can put off work for weeks!
To be honest, I took an unnecessary nap before writing this post.
So maybe there is no hope… I heard excuse-makers are usually seen as puny or spineless
But I don’t procrastinate everyday! You might say. Yes there are days when we are beasts with our tasks.
So, what happens?

Depletion of Will power

tired-depletion-willpower.jpg

Is there a limited pool of will power? Does this pool get depleted every time you take an action?
Your body always wants to return to that state of rest!
And in your inactivity, your will power increases because the more nothing you do, the more bored you get.
So just wait it out then? No! that’s how you waste time
What should you do then? You’ll find out after my procrastination story.

My Procrastination Story

story-time-2.jpg

Well this is just one of thousands probably.
When I joined steemit, it was fun and roses posting about my views on love, then I ran out of things to say. I was advised that I needed to define my niche, not once or twice. I mean it was sung in almost every community I joined. As you might guess, my excuse making skills were legendary…
I’m not a real blogger… I can’t really think of anything… I have so many interests… how can I focus…
Good enough I came across the little hack to cub procrastination and I put myself to work.
Let me show you how

2 easy steps to taking control of your time

Improving-productivity-and-time-management.jpg

You might try to take control of your will power, but the fact that you procrastinated already means you lost control.
So instead of taking the hard route to attain self-control, you can ease into it by practicing these 2 steps.

Organize Your Priorities

unnamed.gif

Excuse making is a result of conflicting priorities, when you don’t have a system for decision, there is a tendency to go with whatever feels best in the moment. Collect a list of all your tasks and organize them based on urgency, importance, and value. You will clearly see what you need to do.

Break Large Uncomfortable Tasks into Manageable steps

interpretation-of-hyperspecialization.png

When your priorities demand you take a big step, and you can’t do it, most often than not it results in procrastination. To avoid this, divide the task into smaller parts you can handle. And if there’s a situation where you can’t divide the task, remind yourself of your priorities and goals.

What Now?

the-actions-you-take-767x510.jpg

Well, there you have it, it’s only going to be black text on white unless you do something about it. You have read this far probably because you’ve seen something that can help you. It not too early or too late to start, the best time right now is right now; you will begin the see changes in how much time you can save.

Upvote and comment if you think this post is helpful. Share your procrastination story and resteem this post. Thank you. Follow me, and check out my introductory post. Until next time…
This is Mrakpor.

Picture5.png

IMAGE SOURCES
We are all guilty of this
Depletion of will power
My procrastination story
2 steps to take control of your time
Organize your priorities
Break large uncomfortable tasks into manageable steps

What now?

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by simplemrakpor from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73