You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Go Long, Go Hard, Even When Injured

in #motivation6 years ago

Great article!

I injured my knee recently and it was really hard to stay out of the gym (I'm an brazilian jiujitsu and judo practitioner and fell prey to to a clumsy whitebelt during drills). There was no way I was going to make it several months without training at all so i decided to go in after a week or so and just take it easy.

As you said it is frustrating not getting better at the pace that I previously was and seeing others getting better and better because they get to train harder than me at the current moment.

I expressed my frustration to my instructor and he gave me some really good advice. He reassured me that injuries happen to everyone and as long as I stay consistent I will reach my goal and to think of training as a marathon and not a sprint.

Sort:  

That is excellent advice! I'm going to think of it that way now. I really want to push, but I also want to be able to push not just for a day or two. Pushing now means I won't make the gains I want in the long term. One thing one of my coaches says is it takes more mental strength than physical to get strong or skilled.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87