Hindrance to technological advancement in Africa

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

If Africa is to grow technologically more effort should be put on practical method of learning. Most of our curriculum are centered on theoretical base learning without practical application even at the tertiary level. Some examples are listed below:

A teacher that ask a pupil what number is larger, 2/3 or 3/5, without giving area where this is applicable is not helping the pupil. This same question can be rephrase: what is better, 2 biscuit for 3 pupil or 3 biscuit for 5 pupil, he/she will tell you right away: 2 biscuit for 3 pupil, of course.

A science teacher telling his/her student that pressure is force applied per unit area without showing the practical application by either using the tip of his pen to applying force on a piece of paper or ask two students with different landing shoe surface to walk on a sandy ground.

Why do you think China is on the path to global technology dominance? The reason is because they believe in one of their proverb that says "I hear, and I forget; I see, and I remember; I do, and I understand" A rough translation: "Not hearing is not as good as hearing, hearing is not as good as seeing, seeing is not as good as knowing, knowing is not as good as acting; true learning continues until it is put into action."

African countries need to make technology and innovation a strategic priority from the standpoint of a world-view that Africa can invent and innovate, and must do so in order to liberate itself from the oppressive dominance of globalisation.

Sort:  

"I hear, and I forget; I see, and I remember; I do, and I understand" A rough translation: "Not hearing is not as good as hearing, hearing is not as good as seeing, seeing is not as good as knowing, knowing is not as good as acting; true learning continues until it is put into action."

I wish our high schools and colleges can follow this principles in impacting knowledges to students, if this can be done then African will also be contended in all areas of development in the world and not just technological development.

@fastfingers loves you and want to see you grow here
unnamed (1).gif
#Huge-Challenge
#Air-Clinic

You may want to join us on discord via https://discord.gg/rqded5m
DQmPzv8G9MXbajgFo8RniS3av1ag4EZg8ZPxHS3pwe7hmcy.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.14
ETH 2915.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55