What a Baby Horse Taught Me About Success

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

thisishowidie16.jpg

photoreel02.jpg

I'm an adventurer, thrill seeker, and life enthusiast with a shorter life expectancy than your mother's cat - Follow my never-ending journey.



What have you always wanted to do?

For many of us, this is a very confronting question, because whatever the answer is, chances are; you're not doing it.

Often, we tell ourselves all sorts of stories about why we can't do something, but like the horse below, in most cases, ​the only thing holding us back is in our minds.

07.jpg

Let me explain what I mean, by taking you with me to the Chilcotin Mountains of British Columbia, Canada.

01.jpg

A few years ago I worked as a wilderness guide in these mountains. Together with other guides, it was our job to take people on pack trips into the wild for up to 14 days.

02.jpg

At night we would tether our horses to a wooden stake, and every morning, when saddling up the horses, I wondered; why do these powerful animals not just pull out that tiny wooden stake? Why do they let themselves be imprisoned by a stick?

03.jpg


Well, the reason is; when still young these horses are tied to the exact same stake, and after hours of struggle, they become so exhausted, they give up.

And years later, grown into mighty beasts, these horses don't even try anymore because it has become a part of their identity. They believe they are not stronger than the stake.

Ironically, you and I, we do the same thing. When still young, we can't do something, we were told we can't do something, or we simply fail.

05.jpg

This is me failing back in 1988.



As a result, when we grow up— and become people with so much potential— we don't even try anymore because it too has become our reality.

Most of us look at our dreams, and all we see are the obstacles in our way. We tell ourselves; I don't have the time. I don't have the talent. I don't have the resources.

A voice in the back our head sums up all the reasons why we can't do something, and as a result; We don't take action. We abandon our dreams. We become naysayers.

Like the horses, we feel unable to change our circumstances, and so it ends up becoming our reality.

The good news is that you can change that inner-story, you can rewrite your narrative, and as a by-product; become incredibly successful.

So how do you do that?

You do it by trying new things.

When I started travelling​, I didn't see myself as the kind of person that goes on all these long-distance adventures. I saw myself as a quitter. That was the story I was telling myself.

06.jpg

Taken a few days before I rang the bell, and quit the Dutch Marine Corps.


However, over time, as I did more and more adventures, they became bigger and bigger, and eventually, something changed.

I realised I no longer saw myself as a quitter, but as someone that could go out and do these things. I started to see myself as an adventurer.

04.jpg


Why?

Well, I had all these new experiences backing up that new belief.

I want to challenge you to start trying new things. Take the smalls steps that you can take today. Because the more new things you try, the more you discover you are capable of lot more than you think.

​And soon enough you will realise; Even though you might not be able to do something today, you can become the person that can.



Follow me on Steemit @thisishowidie
Follow me via my website henkvanderklok.com
Watch my TEDx Talk The Surprising Benefit Of Trying Something New
A big thank you to all my followers and supporters for enjoying the content and helping me sustain my endless adventures & explorations.


Have you done something new today?

Sort:  

I love when I am challenged to re-examine my thinking and this posts has done just that. The analogy of the horse and the stick is very effective

I also so love those aha moments, or when someone writes something that I've been trying to put my finger on for years. Thanks for reading.

Most times, I struggle with finding the right words. So when someone is able to eloquently put my thought into words, I try to show as much appreciation as I can.

It's all in the mind,if one believes he or she is a quitter,they never try to do anything,always believing they will fail but if you believe in yourself that you can do better than yesterday,you become a success.

Totally agree. Henry Ford put it well: "He who says he can, and he who says he can’t, are both usually right."

Upvoted! hey Henk found your account when i looked at the travelfeed tag.
Welcome Fellow Dutchie, very inspiring story! will follow you for sure.
I traveled for four years and post about it now, back in Amsterdam for now, thinking about what will be next for me
keep you post coming

Hey Haas! Good to meet you. Travel, NBA, and blogging; 3 things I love as well. I'll be keeping an eye on your blog as well. If you need some adventure ideas, I have a list of almost a 100 things I still want to do.

Actually, ​I might just be my next post! Thanks for the inspiration :D

Wow greate article!
You just got a 11.11% upvote from @postdoctor!
Thanks for using the @postdoctor service!

You got a 1.26% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @thisishowidie!

You got a 3.39% upvote from @adriatik courtesy of @thisishowidie!

Such a great story and motivating words <3 loved it !

You got a 20.00% upvote from @hotbot courtesy of @thisishowidie!

You got a 15.15% upvote from @mitsuko courtesy of @thisishowidie!

You got a 3.85% upvote from @whalebuilder courtesy of @thisishowidie. Join @whalebuilder family at our Discord Channel. Don't let your precious stake(SP) go stale...Make it do more so you have to do less. Deligate it to @whalebuilder by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links: 50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | custom amount.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76