You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3 Traits To Being A Successful Writer – Spencer Coffman

in #motivational6 years ago

Great article. One of the hardest things that I experienced when I started writing was to find "my own voice". So I started out by writing a lot of technical howtos because it required the least amount of creative writing and didn't need to be very personal to be considered to be a good read for someone.

But after some time it got easier to even be creative and personal in something so matter-of-factly as a step by step instruction of a server configuration.

Like you said, consistency has really been the key. I write far less than one hour per day. But I try to throw in a lot of draft writings that I later just throw away if I don't feel that they're up to standard. The more I do it the faster I feel that the writing gets, because I don't feel that each article needs to be perfect.

Sort:  

Thank you for the complement. Finding your own voice can be tough. You did a good thing by starting out with technical writing because it at least got you started with writing. So many people feel that they can't find their voice so they simply don't write. As demonstrated by your experience, your voice will develop. All it takes is for you to start writing. The more you write, the faster and easier writing becomes. Eventually, your voice begins to shine through your writing.

You are right when it comes to getting them done and not stressing over perfection. One of the best pieces of writing advice I have ever come across is that "done is better than perfect". If it is done, people will read it. If you wait for it to be perfect, it will never be published.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85