The Death March to 1st : More than just a metal

in #motivational6 years ago

DM 14.jpg

"20 Degrees" was all I kept repeating. When you are running it is as if it is 20 degrees warmer outside than it actually is."

That was the last thing I remember thinking as I ran across the finish line and my feet felt as if they were going to melt off my ankles.

Once a year soldiers from all over the world gather in New Mexico to march in remembrance of the, Bataan Death March. See link below for more info.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bataan_Death_March

Below is the link to the race:

http://bataanmarch.com/

Details:

  • This race is classified in the TOP 5 hardest races in the world.
  • There were over 3000 participants the year I ran
  • In the picture below I was carrying 46.8 lbs on my back. The heavy division is a minimum of 35lbs. Some soldiers had rucks up to 120lbs for "full gear" marches.
  • The race was a full marathon 26.2 miles on the, White Sands Missile Range .
  • 10 mile hill is a bitch. You don't know how but you make it to the top and when you do.... the sun is waiting for you. (No Mercy)
  • The view is inspiring . Soldier, Wounded Soldiers and civilians alike are all there to remember the sacrifice of the brave. The sacrifice of our soldiers.

The result of the race:

1st PLACE !!

DM2.jpg

Not only did I get to take home the medal but I got to meet some amazing people:

Mile: 1-5 = I met new recruits. They had never ran a marathon or the Death March before. They only lasted about 5 miles. They were the lucky ones.

Mile 5-10 = I met seasoned soldiers. Mostly Sergeants and Military Police. They were slow and steady and not one of them ever dropped out...even though a few of the should have.

Mile 10-15 = I had caught to the special force units required to start together and finish together. One particular group tagged, "death squad" chased me for 5 miles up "10 mile hill". The instructor made no bones about it that a civilian was not to beat them.

"Especially a civilian that could be "picked off 20 miles away with a predator drone with a backpack that bright," and I quote.... I chuckled... Their world is so different...

I beat them but they had 60-80 lbs in their ruck with boots and cammo on.

Mile 15-20 = I call them, "The Rambo's" Most of the men I passed at this point were special forces, single entry. The "go it alone types." On soldier in particular chatted with me for 3 miles until he finally conceded he needed to slow down. There was no comparison. He was required to run in boots for the military, I was in running shoes.... there is no doubt he could have beat me if the roles were reversed.

Mile 20-26 = I don't remember anything but pain, heat and a foot race with a Captain that was racing in the light division race (minimum of 15 lbs.). He beat me by about 30 steps in the end.

The finish line was unlike any race I had ever experienced.

  • The original soldiers from the, Bataan Death March were there. The pain went away as I got to shake their hand.
  • Families of soldiers were hugging their loved ones. Probably the easiest welcome most of them have had compared to their deployments they are used too.
  • The respect everyone had for each-other. Everyone knew they had completed one of the hardest races in the world. Everyone knew they had done it together. No one was better than the other because in the end we are, Death Marcher's.

I don't know if I will ever race it again. I accomplished all my goals and it was the hardest things I have ever done in my life. But if you are a little crazy, don't mind pain and want to truly understand was our soldiers are exposed to then maybe its take for you to take.....

A Death March.

FYI: Train right and you will finish!

Sort:  

Wow that sounds intense! Congrats on 1st place! I couldn't imagine what you went through physically and mentally but WOW. That is truly amazing. Congrats again!

Thank you @nadatadros. You never know what being able to run while eating a three course meal is like, until you try it. The looks you get while eating peanut butter sandwiches and burritos while drinking two ounces of red wine at the 20 mile mark is priceless. (all part of the training plan of course) It was worth all the pain. But I wont do it again....lol ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62802.08
ETH 2941.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59