Factory Steemit - 2018 - Time for change?

in #motocross6 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemers,

So i know that the year is far from over, it's only October but in the world of Motocross/Supercross then it's done and dusted and everyone (especially the people who won) are looking forward to the trophy nights and toasting a year of success. I have been sponsoring my race team for a long time now (2016 if you early Steemers are still watching) and it got me thinking... Maybe it's time for a re brand.

I did reach out to Steem inc but it seems they are currently unable to back my Steem promoting venture and i am unable to use the current Steemit branding due to copyright issues. That is fine and i understand they would want to protect themselves but it leaves me with a dilemma. I am free to use the Steem branding (which i currently run the logo) but to me the audience is wrong for the blockchain that powers the platform. For me anyway, the idea and of what Steemit wants to be is a social media hub to replace existing institutions, be that Facebook, Reddit or Twitter the message is the same. The blockchain side is not going to appeal to people who are not crypto savy, we need to accept that and target the right people.

Before i get attacked here.. haha I'm not saying that we should dumb down the platform or take away the amazing tech that makes this whole thing possible. What i am saying is that the people who are tech orientated are already here or would look into it once knowing about it. That means people who just tweet, Facebook or Reddit need a little more guidance. That is the target market for teams and promoters such as myself. Once they are in and using and enjoying the benefits, some would move towards learning more and that can only be a good thing for the ecosystem.

So i guess we end up back to my original title for the post... Is it time to change, to move on and get more sponsors. Don't mistake that for me leaving the Steem platform, i have no intention of doing so. I run a witness (please vote haha) and i will continue to do so. I will still run Steem (not Steemit as i am unable to) branding and carry the message in each race my team rides at.

I am, however, open to the idea of supporting more blockchains and projects that are actively seeking exposure and i have been approached by many. So The point of this post i guess is to gauge your thoughts on this, i don't want to alienate my supporters here but i also think that opening my sponsorship to other blockchains will help the project. It will allow me to get sponsorship from multiple places which will give us the power to do a lot more. Steemit are unable to support this which means currently i am limited to my own input and my own money, which unfortunately is not sufficient to send the message i would like.

So steemers, do you support me opening up the team to multiple sponsors?


Please vote for the Factory Steemit witness

To vote for me just click the image below, with your support we can get the word of steemit out there at the races!
b0y2k


Follow me for #factorysteemit and motocross news!

b0y2k

Sort:  

You have my support. There's many lessons to be learned by this community on multiple fronts... and in my mind... experimenting to find the right fit is certainly a smart move.

Thanks @mikeonfire your support and comments on my posts are always welcome mate :)

always!!! :)

Nice one @ssekulji :)

I just started here, you have started it very long, I chose you. Your writing is full of laughter. I like it.

Welcome to steemit @rikue :) glad you enjoyed the post :)

Thank you, you wrote it in a very beautiful language, I feel happy reading your post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99