Huge blow for Wilson!

in #motocross6 years ago

Well it seems that Dean Wilson has a dark cloud following him around the track this year as once again injury comes calling and it could not be at a worse time for him.

2466442633.jpg

Wilson has been dealing with multiple injuries all year after a huge off over the bars early on in the Monster Energy Supercross series but has managed to ride through most of it. Sure he has not been the rider we all know he can be but that is understandable when you have not been given the time to recover fully. Now though, it seems that injury has forced itself upon him and right before the start of the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross season it has surfaced that he has torn his ACL. This will sideline Wilson for the whole of the outdoors.

dean-wilson-18-e1512757628150.jpg

Wilson was putting in some pre season practice at a very busy Glen Helen on Thursday when the incident happened as he explains below.

156327_rs__8051.jpg

Dean Wilson

Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing

"Unfortunate news from yesterday while testing for outdoors at Glen Helen on a crowded track I was passing a slower rider and he moved over mid air on me and I got cross jumped I hit his rear wheel and put my leg out and my foot stomped the ground really hard to prevent me falling as I did I heard my knee pop. After MRI results I have torn my ACL and will require surgery. I can’t believe this, just as I was feeling good for outdoors and ready for a fresh start with the outdoor season and something completely out of my control like this happens. I’m Completely gutted. I’ll do everything in my power to come back from this even stronger, whether I remain where I’m at or do it on my own. I know what I’m capable of. Thanks everyone for the support."

40002_Wilson_Paris_SX_2017_RA_3819-web.jpg

As you can see there is not only worry about the torn ACL, it is not the first time he has dealt with knee issues and I'm sure he knows the importance of getting it fixed right. The other worry, as Wilson himself points at, is that his current Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing contract ends this year. With his ACL recovery now removing him from racing for the rest of 2018 that will leave him in a bad place contractually.

2018_Las_Vegas_Supercross_Aaron_Plessinger_Zach_Osborne-730x521.jpg

Jason Anderson and Zach Osborne will be riding 450s next year and not only have they both signed new contracts but they are both Champions. Does this leave any room on the team for Wilson to extend his time there with a new contract? I think with Wilson out for the year it's very unlikely that he will get a new contract with the team and he might be forced back down the privateer path.

I hope Wilson can stay positive, heal up and do whatever it takes to get back to where he was earlier this year. You can do it Deano!


Please vote for the Factory Steemit witness

To vote for me just click the image below, with your support we can get the word of steemit out there at the races!
b0y2k


Follow me for #factorysteemit and motocross news!

b0y2k

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95